Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Tools for the Patient Presentation

Tools and resources for preparing a patient presentation

Can't Access Our Subscribed Resources?

At times you may be at a location where you cannot login remotely.  In this cases, you can still search MEDLINE via PubMed.  You can also identify and view abstracts from the Cochrane Database, DARE, or NHS EED.

PubMed (Public Access to PubMed)

The National Library of Medicine provides PubMed as a freely available interface to MEDLINE.  The database does include links to full text articles, but most of them are available only if you are at a site, such as UMDNJ, that has a subscription.  However, you will be able to retrieve an article if:

  • it is part of PubMed Central
  • it is provided for free by the publisher at its site
  • you are at a site that has a subscription

Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (Search the CRD databases)

The NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination provides access to three databases that can be searched together or selectively: 

  • DARE (Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects) - provides structured abstracts of reviewed articles.  If you limit your search to Cochrane Reviews, you can retrieve abstracts of the reviews. 
  • NHS EED (NHS Economic Evaluation Database) - critical abstracts of studies comparing interventions or care alternatives.
  • HTA Database - focuses on worldwide health technology assessments. The records are not critically assessessed, but may contain links to relevant abstracts in DARE or NHS EED.

MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains over 21 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine. A distinctive feature of MEDLINE is that the records are indexed with NLM Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®). MEDLINE is the primary component of PubMed®, part of the Entrez series of databases provided by the NLM National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Access to is available from many sources, including PubMed® and Ovid MEDLINE ®.

Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials
This bibliographic database contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to definitive controlled healthcare trials identified by the Cochrane Collaboration. 
Available in the Cochrane Library under Trials

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
The Cochrane Collaboration is an international network committed to preparing, maintaining, and disseminating systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare. Full text of Complete Reviews and Protocols available.
Available in the Cochrane Library under Cochrane Reviews

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE)
This database provides full text structured abstracts critiquing systematic reviews from all over the world. Prepared by experts at the National Health Services' Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CRD) at the University of York, England.
Available from the NHS, and in the Cochrane Library under More Resources