Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Mobile Apps - Rowan Medical Libraries: Home

AccessMedicine App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

No

AccessMedicine is a mobile compatible resource, and the app is not required for use. However, once downloaded to your device you do not need to be on WiFi or use your data plan to access select content

You must create a "MyAccess" profile in order to install and use the app.

From a computer on the Rowan network go to AccessMedicine

Click on "Rowan University" in the upper right corner

Choose "Sign in or Create a Free MyAccess Profile"

Choose "Don't have a MyAccess Profile?"

Fill out the registration form

Install the AccessMedicine app on your mobile device by choosing Google Play or iTunes store from this link http://www.unboundmedicine.com/accessmedicine.

Sign on with your personal account information

IMPORTANT: to maintain remote access to AccessMedicine you have to log in while on a Rowan University Network computer at least once every 90 days

The app provides access to the following:

Quick Medical Diagnosis and Treatment
Fitzpatrick's Clinical Dermatology Atlas
Diagnosaurus
Pocket Guide to Diagnostic Tests

EBSCO App

App is for use with the Following Databases Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

Academic Search Premier
Biological Abstracts
CINAHL
Health Source Academic/Nursing Edition
Mental Measurements Yearbook
PsychArticles
PsychInfo
SPORTDiscus

  NO

These databases are mobile compatible, and use of the app is not required, but to get to the mobile site you must go to the bottom of the page and click the link the says "mobile site" in order to view a mobile compatible version of the database.  

Go to iTunes or Android market on your phone.

After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. 

Click the EBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of any EBSCO page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.

Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface.

For more information about mobile acess from EBSCO click here

BMJ Best Practice App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions


 
NO

BMJ Best Practice is a mobile compatible resource, and the app is not required for use. However, once downloaded to your device you do not need to be on WiFi or use your data plan to access select content

You must create aa free personal account from a computer on the Rowan network in order to use BMJ Best Practice app.

Choose iTunes/Google play from here:

http://us.bestpractice.bmj.com.ezproxy.rowan.edu/best-practice/marketing/bp-app.html

The free download comes with a few sample topics, but your institutional subscription includes the Best Practice app and you will be able to download the full content set.
To complete set up, tap on the app icon on your device’s home screen.

On the log in screen enter you  My Best Practice email and password, don't enter an institutional number.

To download all content, make sure you have are signed into or created your account while your device is connected to the Rowan network.

DON'T USE YOUR DATA PLAN -We recommend you be on Rowan Wi-Fi for the initial download of content as well as when updates become available because they can be big.

ClinicalKey

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Clinical information tool searches extensive full-text holdings for clinical answers in journal articles, books, and videos. Searchable by keyword as well as disease, finding, procedure or drug.

  YES
  1. If you do not already have a ClinicalKey account, go to ClinicalKey through the library page.  Click on Register and sign up for a ClinicalKey account.
  2. Once you have a ClinicalKey account, click on the appropriate icon to the left and download the Clinical Key app from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.
  3. After the ClinicalKey app is installed, enter your ClinicalKey username and password to begin using the app.

 

**Requires Mobile Data Plan.**

Remote access is given for 180 days.  Sign on to a Rowan networked computer with your personal account before the end to renew for another 180 days.  If your remote access expires follow the above steps to reactivate it

Cochrane Library

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

  NO

The Cochrane Library is a mobile compatible site and use of the app is not required.

Download a free Ipad app from iTunes by going here.

Note that the Ipad app does not provide access to the complete Cochrane Library. For details click here.

Dynamed Plus App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

NO

‚ÄčFor information on installing to the DynaMed app to your device see the How do I install and authenticate the DynaMed app on my mobile device webpage on the DynaMed site, specifically the section "Log in via your institution's network".  To create a personal account with you must access DynaMed from links on the library's website. 

Nursing Reference Center App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

NO

Go to Nursing Reference Center.

Click the Nursing Reference Center iPhone/iPod Touch Application link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. Note: You must use an email address that you can access from your device.

An email with an authentication key is sent to you.

Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application.

You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

 

STAT!Ref App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

YES

STAT!Ref is not a mobile compatible site. App is recommended for use with mobile devices. 

How to get and activate the STAT!Ref app:

Create a free personal account for STAT!Ref from a computer on the Rowan network under the "My Stat! Ref" link.  Enable your Temporary Login Account from the profile page.

Choose your device version here and install it.

On your mobile device go to Apps and tap on STAT!Ref

Enter your email address as your User Name and the Password you created

IMPORTANT: You have now activated your Temporary Login Account for 90 days, and will need to renewed using a Rowan networked computers. An expiration reminder email for users of Temporary Login Accounts are sent 10 days and then again 1 day prior to expiration

VisualDx App

Platforms App Needed for Mobile Access?

Access/Installation Instructions

YES

VisualDx is not a mobile compatible site. App is recommended for use with mobile devices.

Launch VisualDx on a computer on the Rowan network and click “Get Mobile" (top right of page).

Create your personal username and password as instructed. NOTE: You must be on the Rowan or Cooper networks to create the account.

Once you have a username and password, you can download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.

Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created. 

A Shared Service of the Rowan Medical Libraries

CMSRU
SOM

Need Help?

  Contact your Rowan Medical Library

RowanSOM Library
CMSRU LIbrary

  Call your Rowan Medical Library

RowanSOM Library: 856 566-6800
CMSRU Library: 856 342-2522