Welcome - PBL 2 - Hematology & Oncology - Rowan Medical Libraries Guides at Rowan University

Welcome to Hematology & Oncology

Hematology is the branch of medicine concerned with the study of the cause, prognosis, treatment, and prevention of diseases related to the blood. Hematologists and Hematopathologists specialize in diseases of the blood and blood components; these include blood and bone marrow cells. Diseases can include anemia, leukemia and lymphoma.

Oncology is a branch of medicine that deals with the study, treatment, diagnosis and prevention of cancer. There are three major areas of oncology based on treatments. Medical oncologists treat cancer using medication - chemotherapy, immunotherapy, and targeted therapy. Radiation oncologists treat cancer using radiation therapy - the use of high energy x-rays or other particles to destroy cancer cells. Surgical oncologists treat cancer using surgery - removing the tumor and nearby tissue during an operation; this type of surgeon can also perform certain types of biopsies to help diagnose cancer.

General E-Book Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Access to more than 75 medical ebooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, point of care tools, case files, diagnostic tools, and more. (Mobile Compatible)

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Clinical Key draws from the large collection of clinical resources published by Elsevier covering every medical and surgical specialty. It includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed, as well as multimedia. Clinical Key replaces MD Consult and First Consult which have been discontinued by Elsevier.

LWW Health Library for Medical Education (Ebooks, Images, Cases and Procedures) This link opens in a new window

The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on many subjects and medical specialties.

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000.