Welcome to Neurology and the Musculoskeletal system
Neurology is the branch of medicine dealing with the diagnosis and treatment of all categories of conditions and disease involving the brain, spinal cord, and peripheral nerves and muscles. Neurological practice relies heavily on neuroscience and the study of the nervous system. Neurologists would be called on to help treat such disorders as epilepsy, stroke, MS, Parkinson's, autism, ADD, and neuromuscular disorders.
Musculoskeletal health refers to the performance of the locomotor system, comprising muscles, bones, joints, and adjacent connective tissue; providing the body with structure and the means for movement. The musculoskeletal system also acts as an endocrine system, stimulated by exercise, and interacts through biochemical signaling with other organs in the body. Musculoskeletal disorders are the leading cause of disability in the US and encompass a broad range of conditions that impair normal activity; many of which are associated with or made more complex with age1.
1. What is Musculoskeletal Health? | IU School of Medicine. medicine.iu.edu. https://medicine.iu.edu/expertise/musculoskeletal-health/what-is-musculoskeletal-health
General E-Book Databases
Access to more than 75 medical ebooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, point of care tools, case files, diagnostic tools, and more. (Mobile Compatible)
Clinical Key draws from the large collection of clinical resources published by Elsevier covering every medical and surgical specialty. It includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed, as well as multimedia. Clinical Key replaces MD Consult and First Consult which have been discontinued by Elsevier.
- LWW Health Library for Medical Education (Ebooks, Images, Cases and Procedures) This link opens in a new window
The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on many subjects and medical specialties.
Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000.
General Medicine E-Books
Dictionaries etc.
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations with CD-ROM by ISBN: 9781416058991Publication Date: 2016
