Microbiology/Biochemistry & Pharmacology - Pulmonology
Microbiology - the study of all living organisms that are too small to be visible with the naked eye, including bacteria, archaea, and viruses.
Biochemistry - concerned with the chemical processes within and relating to living organisms.
Both fields study cellular proteins, viruses and bacteria, and recombinant DNA; both deal with the intersection of biology and medicine. However, biochemistry examines the macromolecules that compose an organism, while microbiology studies the entire organism and how it interacts with its host.
Pharmacology - a branch of medicine, biology, and pharmaceutical sciences. It encompasses the sources, chemical properties, biological effects and therapeutic uses of drugs. It deals with the interaction of drugs with the systems and processes of living animals and, in particular, the mechanisms of drug action as well as the therapeutic and other uses of the drug.
Microbiology
Faculty Recommended
Jawetz Melnick & Adelbergs Medical Microbiology 28 E by ISBN: 9781260012026Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Ryan & Sherris Medical Microbiology, Eighth Edition by ISBN: 9781260464283Publication Date: 2021-12-03
- Microbiology/Immunology - LWW Health Library Collection This link opens in a new window The Microbiology/Immunology LWW Collection is part of the LWW Health Library. The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on microbiology and immunology and other subjects. Also contains an extensive, customizable self-assessment section. Access to the self Assessment sections requires creation of a free personal account with LWW.
In addition to a Rowan NetID an additional login may be required to access specialized content from licensed resources. Create a free account through the resource after logging in with your Rowan NetID.
- Self Assessment - LWW Health Library Quizzing tool that allows you to take and/or build custom quizzes organized by topic and discipline. Subjects include Biochemistry, Microbiology, Osteopathic Medicine, Pathology, Pharmacology, and many others. Create a free personal account with LWW to access.
- Review Questions - Microbiology - AccessMedicine Generate multiple-choice quizzes from the microbiology textbooks available through AccessMedicine. Create a free personal account with AccessMedicine to access the questions.
Biochemistry
- Biochemistry Online: An Approach Based on Chemical Logic St. John's University
- RCSB Protein Data Bank An archive containing information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies. Provides a variety of tools and resources allowing users to perform searches based on annotations relating to sequence, structure and function. All data is curated and annotated according to wwPDB standards.
Faculty Recommended
Harper's Illustrated BiochemistryISBN: 9781260469943
Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry by Call Number: Reserve QU 4 N425L 2017ISBN: 9781464126116Publication Date: 2017-01-01RECOMMENDED
The Big Picture: Medical BiochemistryISBN: 9780071637916
- Biochemistry - JoVE Video Journal This link opens in a new window JoVE Biochemistry includes methods and experimental approaches to study the structure, function, and interactions of biological molecules.
- Biochemistry - LWW Health Library Collection This link opens in a new window The Biochemistry Collection is part of the LWW Health Library. The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on Biochemistry and other subjects. Also contains an extensive, customizable self-assessment section. Access to the self Assessment sections requires creation of a free personal account with LWW.
In addition to a Rowan NetID an additional login may be required to access specialized content from licensed resources. Create a free account through the resource after logging in with your Rowan NetID.
- Flashcards - Biochemistry - QuizLet Flashcards from the commercial learning platform QuizLet. Flashcards are written for multiple educational levels on multiple topics, including medicine. Create a free account to create sets of flashcards.
- Flashcards - Biochemistry - Flashcard Machine Flashcard Machine is a community sourced website of educational flashcards on many subjects. You can create your own flashcards or use ones created by a community of students and teachers.
- Flashcards - Biochemistry - StudyStack Studystack flashcards is a community sourced website of educational flashcards and games on many subjects. You can create your own flashcards or use ones created by a community of students and teachers.
- Self Assessment - LWW Health Library Quizzing tool that allows you to take and/or build custom quizzes organized by topic and discipline. Subjects include Biochemistry, Microbiology, Osteopathic Medicine, Pathology, Pharmacology, and many others. Create a free personal account with LWW to access.
- Review Questions - Biochemistry - AccessMedicine Generate multiple-choice quizzes from the biochemistry textbooks and board review books available through AccessMedicine. Create a free personal account with AccessMedicine to access the questions.
Pharmacology
- Clinical Pharmacology - Merck Manual Excellent resource book
- USP: U.S. Pharmacopeia The U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention (USP) is a scientific nonprofit organization that sets standards for the identity, strength, quality, and purity of medicines, food ingredients, and dietary supplements manufactured, distributed and consumed worldwide.
Faculty Recommended
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by ISBN: 9781259584732Publication Date: 2017-12-05
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by ISBN: 9781259641152
- Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp) This link opens in a new window Provides full text access to point-of-care information from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical applications. Databases include Lexi-Drugs, Pediatric Lexi-Drugs, and Geriatric Lexi-Drugs as well as Clinician's Guides to Diagnosis, Internal Medicine and Laboratory Medicine. Clinical Applications include drug interactions, tablet & capsule identification, medical calculations and patient advisory leaflets. The Databases and Clinical Applications correspond to the series of handbooks published by Lexi-Comp.
- Pharmacology - LWW Health Library Collection This link opens in a new window The Pharmacology Collection is part of the LWW Health Library. The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on Pharmacology and other subjects. Also contains an extensive, customizable self-assessment section. Access to the self Assessment sections requires creation of a free personal account with LWW.
- Pharmacology/Toxicology Multimedia - ClinicalKey Charts and graphs and other pertinent items. Create your own login to use these materials.
General Drug Information
Daily Med ~ National Library of Medicine and FDA
Drug Monographs~ Clinical Key
In addition to a Rowan NetID an additional login may be required to access specialized content from licensed resources. Create a free account through the resource after logging in with your Rowan NetID.
- Review Questions - Pharmacology/Pharmacy - AccessPharmacy Generate multiple-choice quizzes from the pharmacology and pharmacy textbooks available through AccessPharmacy. Create a free personal account with AccessMedicine to access the questions.
