Welcome - PBL 2 - Cardiology, Nephrology, and Pulmonology 2 - Rowan Medical Libraries Guides at Rowan University

Welcome to Cardiology, Nephrology, and Pulmonology 2

Cardiology is a branch of medicine that specializes in diagnosing and treating diseases of the heart, blood vessels, and circulatory system. It is considered a branch of internal medicine concerned specifically with disorders of the heart. Cardiologists are specially trained in diseases and conditions of the heart including coronary artery disease, heart rhythm problems, and heart failure.

Nephrology is another subspecialty of internal medicine that focuses on the diagnosis and treatment of diseases of the kidney. Because the kidney performs so many critical functions nephrologists maintain expertise in primary kidney disorders, but also the management of the systemic consequences of kidney dysfunction.

Pulmonology is a medical specialty that deals with diseases involved the respiratory tract. It is considered a branch of internal medicine, and is related to intensive care medicine. Pulmonologists are specially trained in diseases and conditions of the chest, particularly pneumonia, asthma, tuberculosis, emphysema, and complicated chest infections.

General E-Book Databases

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Access to more than 75 medical ebooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, point of care tools, case files, diagnostic tools, and more. (Mobile Compatible)

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Clinical Key draws from the large collection of clinical resources published by Elsevier covering every medical and surgical specialty. It includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed, as well as multimedia. Clinical Key replaces MD Consult and First Consult which have been discontinued by Elsevier.

LWW Health Library for Medical Education (Ebooks, Images, Cases and Procedures) This link opens in a new window

The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on many subjects and medical specialties.

STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000.