Skip to main content
MENU

CMSRU Medical Mobile Apps

Need Library Help?

AccessEmergency Medicine

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

In AccessEmergency MedicineTM from McGraw-Hill Medical, physicians and residents will find answers for a broad spectrum of complaints encountered in the ED, ranging from neurologic and orthopedic emergencies, to poisoning and trauma. A semantically-driven search engine provides quick and targeted treatment information, as well as deeper information such as different presentations, diagnostic tests, procedures, and more.

All platforms- mobile website NO In order to log on to the mobile version, you will need to use your personal username and password. If you have not yet created one, please select the “My Access” tab on the homepage and follow the directions for creating a free personal profile.  Once complete, you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

AccessMedicine

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

AccessMedicine® from McGraw-Hill Medical is an innovative online resource that provides students, residents, clinicians, researchers, and all health professionals with access to more than 75 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, time-saving diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.

All platforms-mobile website YES

In order to log on to the mobile version, you will need to use your personal username and password. If you have not yet created one, please select the “My Access” tab on the homepage and follow the directions for creating a free personal profile.  Once complete, download the app from the Google Playstore at https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.unbound.android.ubam&hl=en

or the iOS apps store at

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/accessmedicine/id821729889?ls=1&mt=8

Once the app is downloaded, sign into the app using your "MyAccess" account information.

 

NOTE: For download and continued access to the app, the user must have an active My Access account and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN..

AccessPediatrics

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

AccessPediatrics™ from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing pediatricians with a broad range of content that covers the entire span of pediatric practice, from neonatology through adolescent medicine. Organized around a set of Core Topics developed by an advisory board of renowned pediatricians, AccessPediatrics meets the needs of medical students, pediatric residents, general practitioners, and pediatric specialists.

All platforms- mobile website NO In order to log on to the mobile version, you will need to use your personal username and password. If you have not yet created one, please select the “My Access” tab on the homepage and follow the directions for creating a free personal profile.  Once complete, you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

AccessSurgery

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

AccessSurgery® from McGraw-Hill is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from trusted sources. Organized around the accepted ACGME's (Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education) Core Curriculum, AccessSurgery delivers content in context.

All platforms- mobile website NO In order to log on to the mobile version, you will need to use your personal username and password. If you have not yet created one, please select the “My Access” tab on the homepage and follow the directions for creating a free personal profile.  Once complete, you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

Annual Reviews

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

A comprehensive collection of literature reviews written by leading scientists.  Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 40 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.  Full text available from 1991 to present.

Mobile Pairing to any mobile OS  NO To access full-text articles from journals that have been licensed by your institution's library, simply visit www.annualreviews.org from your mobile device while on an authenticated institutional wi-fi network.  Your mobile device will be automatically paired with your institution’s access rights. The pairing will then enable you to access content while offsite; it lasts six months, and will be refreshed each time you access the Annual Reviews website while within your institution’s network. If you have a personal subscription, you can login with your Annual Reviews username and password to access subscribed full-text content. 

Biological Abstracts

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

A complete collection of bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature published from journals internationally. This database contains records from as far back as 1969.

  YES
  1. Go to iTunes or Android market on your phone.
  2. After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. 
  3. Click theEBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of any EBSCO page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.
  4. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
  5. Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface. 

Biological & Argicultural Abstracts

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Access to the core literature of biology and agriculture plus full text. Full text citations also link to PDF page images, featuring graphs, charts, diagrams, photos, and illustrations indispensable to science research. Coverage dates:  Indexing 1983+, Abstracting 1994+, “select” Full Text 1994+ 

  YES
  1. Go to iTunes or Android market on your phone.
  2. After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. 
  3. Click theEBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of any EBSCO page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.
  4. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
  5. Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface. 

BMJ Best Practice

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Best Practice is a completely new concept for information delivered at the point of care. In a single source we have combined the latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion – presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Best Practice provides a second opinion in an instant, without the need for checking multiple resources. Its unique patient-focused approach represents a major new advancement in information delivery at the point of care.

All platforms- mobile website
 
YES

1. Register for a new My Best Practice account, or sign into an existing account (CMSRU Students: Please sign up with your new email account, i.e. @rowan.edu)

PLEASE NOTE: You MUST register/login from within the IP range of the institution for access set-up to be successful. Your institution must also allow remote access.

2. After completing step 1, you can:

a) access the Best Practice website; simply login to: us.bestpractice.bmj.com
b) access the Best Practice through their app:

Download the app:

Android: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.bmjgroup.bestpractice.us&hl=en_GB

iOS: https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/bmj-best-practice-us/id485295400?mt=8

Cinahl with Full Text

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

CINAHL provides full text for 600 nursing & allied health journals.  Full-text coverage dates back to 1981.

  YES
  1. Go to iTunes or Android market on your phone.
  2. After downloading the app, it must be authenticated from EBSCO. 
  3. Click theEBSCOhost iPhone and Android Applications link at the bottom of any EBSCO page and enter your email address. An email with an authentication key will be sent to you.
  4. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You'll have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.
  5. Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for nine months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the EBSCOhost interface. 

ClinicalKey App

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Clinical information tool searches extensive full-text holdings for clinical answers in journal articles, books, and videos. Searchable by keyword as well as disease, finding, procedure or drug.

  YES
  1. If you do not already have a ClinicalKey account, go to ClinicalKey through the library page.  Click on Register and sign up for a ClinicalKey account.
  2. Once you have a ClinicalKey account, click on the appropriate icon to the left and download the Clinical Key app from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.
  3. After the ClinicalKey app is installed, enter your ClinicalKey username and password to begin using the app.

 

**Requires Mobile Data Plan.**

Remote access is given for 180 days.  Sign on to a Rowan networked computer with your personal account before the end to renew for another 180 days.  If your remote access expires follow the above steps to reactivate it

Cochrane Library

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

The Cochrane Library iPad Edition presents the latest up-to-date evidence from The Cochrane Library in a convenient, easy to navigate format. Monthly issues feature Cochrane Systematic Reviews selected by the Editor in Chief and specifically abridged to provide the best possible iPad reading experience. The reviews are enriched with the addition of multimedia content, including podcasts, videos and slide decks.

  NO Download the app from iTunes  by going to: https://itunes.apple.com/app/id573181475

Dynamed

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

DynaMed is an evidence-based, primary care database for use at the point-of-care. It contains peer-reviewed summaries for over 3000 diseases, disorders, and symptoms, including information on causation, associated conditions, history and research findings, differential diagnosis and diagnostic testing, treatment, prevention, prognosis and links to patient information.

 

DynaMed mobile application is available on Omnio platforms and supports both Android and Apple iOS devices.

 

  YES

ANDROID

  1. Download the free DynaMed App from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
  2. Access DynaMed from the hospital.
  3. Click on the DynaMed mobile access link from DynaMed and enter their email address. The link will be located at the top toolbar.  An authentication key will be emailed to the user.
  4. Open the email from their mobile device.
  5. Within 48 hours, tap on the link in the email to authenticate the app.
    Note: after 48 hours, users will need to request a new authentication key.
  6. The device should be ready to go!

 

 


iOS

To download the app:

  1. Download the free DynaMed App from the iTunes Store or Google Play.
  2. Access DynaMed from the hospital.
  3. Click on the DynaMed mobile access link from DynaMed and enter their email address. The link will be located at the top toolbar.  An authentication key will be emailed to the user.
  4. Open the email from their mobile device.
  5. Within 48 hours, tap on the link in the email to authenticate the app.
    Note: after 48 hours, users will need to request a new authentication key.
  6. The device should be ready to go!

Dynamed Plus

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

DynaMed Plus is the clinical reference tool that clinicians go to for answers. Content is written by a world-class team of physicians who synthesize the evidence and provide objective analysis.

YES

How to create an account-

  • While on campus or after signing in to the proxy server go to DynaMedPlus
  • On the left hand side find the link that says, "Mobile use – Get the DynaMed Mobile App"
  • Enter an email you can get to on your device and click Submit
  • Open the email from your mobile device
  • Download the appropriate version (Apple or Android) of the DynamedPlus app
  • Tap the authentication link in the email to authenticate the app.
  • The DynaMedPlus app opens on your device and begins the initial content download.

JAMAevidence

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

The JAMAevidence mobile view features a portion of the site’s content optimized for the unique size and speed constraints of mobile browsers. To that end, the following content is available in this view:

  • "Quick Reference" pocket cards from Users' Guides to the Medical Literature
  • "Make the Diagnosis" sections from The Rational Clinical Examination
YES
    1. Create a login using a personal profile name and password created at www.jamaevidence.com.
    2. If you have not created such a profile, please visit the site on a nonmobile browser, select the "My JAMAevidence" tab, and follow the directions for creation of a personal profile.
    3. Once complete, you may return to the mobile view and use that username and password to access the site.

Nursing Reference Center

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Nursing Reference Center (NRC) provides a user-friendly point-of-care resource intended for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty. It delivers the best available and most recent clinical evidence and knowledge on conditions and diseases, including the following specific modules: Diseases & Conditions, Skills & Procedures, Drug Information, Patient Education, Practice Resources, and Continuing Education.

NO
  1. Go to CMSRU library. Click More Medical Resources.
  2. Locate and click the link for Health Source:Nursing/Academic.
  3. Click the Nursing Reference Center iPhone/iPod Touch Application link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address. Note: You must use an email address that you can access from your device.
  4. An email with an authentication key is sent to you.
  5. Access the email from your device and click the link found in the email to authenticate the application.

    You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

 

ScienceDirect SciVerse

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

ScienceDirect online allows access to the same journals from your mobile devices. The screen is smaller but the familiar journal content is all there. With the ScienceDirect mobile app, you can look up and read a paper, share the article, or just explore what's out there anytime you get a bright idea.

 

YES
  1. Download the app from the App Store, the Play Store (for Android) or Blackberry App World.
  2. Register, using your CMSRU/Cooper provided email address, at http://www.sciencedirect.com/science/newregistration (login as you normally would to access a database from off campus.)
  3. You will receive a confirmation email with a link to click on to verify your email.
  4. Once you do this, the ScienceDirect mobile app will launch automatically.

Scopus Alerts

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

Use the Scopus mobile app to:

  • Search across thousands of scholarly journals from more than 5000 international publishers
  • Save the important articles in one place for easy look-up
  • Set up and review alerts for your favourite searches
  • Set up email alerts for when an author cites a particular article
  • Annotate articles with your own notes
  • Share article links through email or twitter

 

YES
  1. Download the app from the App Store, the Play Store (for Android) or Blackberry App World.
  2. Register at http://www.scopus.com/
  3. Open the Scopus Alerts app.
  4. Enter the username and password you setup when you registered.
  5. Enter your CMSRU/Cooper provided email address

StatRef!

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

"STAT!Ref Mobile Access takes STAT!Ref healthcare e-sources on the go. With powerful interactive functionality, STAT!Ref Mobile Access allows users to search their institution’s subscriptions anytime, anywhere. STAT!Ref is available through mobile applications that are supported by most popular devices or through web enabled mobile access technology (STAT!Ref Mobile)."

YES
  1. Download the STAT!Ref app from the appropriate location:

    1.   https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/stat!ref/id474559171?mt=8 (iOS)

    2. https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=tds.statref (Android)

  2.  Access your STAT!Ref subscription through http://www.lib.rowan.edu/cmsru/find/eresource

  3. Click the “My STAT!Ref” link in the upper right corne

  4. If you do not have a “My STAT!Ref” account already, set-up your account by simply entering your name, state, phone number, e-mail address and a “My STAT!Ref” password.

  5. Click the “Temporary Login Account” tab and click the “Activate/Renew” icon

Visual DX

Description Platforms Account for Off-campus Acces via mobile?

Access/Installation Instructions

VisualDx is a diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. VisualDX is not a native app; therefore, you must have internet connectivity to use the app. 

  YES
  1. Launch VisualDx at your institution and click “Get our free app... Learn how" (center of VisualDx homepage) or "Get VisualDx Mobile" (top right of page).

  2. Create your personal username and password as instructed. NOTE: You must be on the Cooper or CMSRU network to create your account.

  3. Once you have a username and password, you can download the free VisualDx Mobile app on your mobile device from the iTunes Store or from Google Play.

  4. Launch the VisualDx app from your device and sign in using the username and password you created.