Immunology is a branch of medicine and biology that covers the medical study of the immune system and/or immunity - the range of defenses developed by the human body to protect itself. Immunological disorders caused by a dysfunction of the immune system could include allergy, asthma, autoimmune disease, autoinflammatory syndromes, and immunological deficiency syndromes.
Rheumatology is a branch of medicine devoted to the diagnosis and management of disorders whose common feature is inflammation in the bones, muscles, joints, and internal organs. The subject covers 100+ different complex diseases including the many forms of arthritis and lupus; collectively they are known as rheumatic diseases. Many of these are now known to be disorders of the immune system; the overlap between rheumatology and immunology are why these two subjects are paired so well together.
Access to more than 75 medical ebooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, point of care tools, case files, diagnostic tools, and more. (Mobile Compatible)
Clinical Key draws from the large collection of clinical resources published by Elsevier covering every medical and surgical specialty. It includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed, as well as multimedia. Clinical Key replaces MD Consult and First Consult which have been discontinued by Elsevier.
The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on many subjects and medical specialties.
Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000.