Finding Quality Journals and Funding Support
With researchers, clinicians, and medical students facing ever increasing pressure to publish combined with the move toward Open Access finding reputable, quality journals to publish in can be a confusing and daunting task. Use the tool and resources below to help you find the right journals to publish in and avoid the perils of predatory publishing.
Help with Open Access Funding
Rowan University Libraries (RUL) has two programs that help Rowan authors cover the cost of publishing in Open Access journals:
- Read and Publish Agreements - Rowan authors, including medical students, can have article processing charges (APC) waived if they publish in an Open Access journal that is covered under one of the Read and Publish agreements RUL has with multiple academic and scientific publishers.
- Open Access Publishing Fund - Available only to Rowan employed, full-time faculty the Open Access Publishing Fund supports Rowan authors that want to publish in an Open Access journal.
Journal Matching Tools
- Journal/Author Name Estimator (JANE)Plug your abstract or keywords into this well regarded site to help determine the best PubMed journal to approach for publishing your work
- Elsevier Journal FinderInsert your title and abstract and select the appropriate field-of-research for the best results into the Elsevier Journal Finder to match your article to Elsevier journals.
- Scholarly Publishing Information Hub (SPI-Hub™)Enter keywords describing the topic of your research into the SPI-Hub database to identify journals in which to publish your work. SPI-Hub consolidates information from multiple resources to compare the quality, scholarly importance, and editorial policies of several biomedical journals.
- Wiley Journal FinderEnter the title and abstract of your manuscript into the Wiley Journal Finder to locate Wiley journals that may be appropriate for your manuscript.
Case Reports
- BMJ Case ReportsBMJ Case Reports is a peer-reviewed collection of cases on common and rare medical conditions. Rowan Medical Libraries have an institutional fellowship with BMJ. This fellowship allows Rowan-Virtua SOM clinicians and medical students to submit a case reports at no cost. Contact the library to obtain the code needed to submit a case report.
- Medical Journals that Accept Case ReportsList of medical journals that accept case reports. Journals included on the list must currently accept case reports, be fully indexed in Medline.
Think Check Submit
A group of publishers and associations created a checklist for authors to use when evaluating a journal as a possible place of publication for their research. By using common sense and answering a few questions from the checklist, authors can better determine if a journal they are considering is one they can trust.
Think: Ask yourself, can you trust this journal with your research? Does the journal publish research you would read yourself?
Check: Have you read any articles in the journal before?
Name of the journal: the name is unique; it is not the same or easily confused with another journal.
Is the organization or publisher easily identifiable? Can you contact the publisher by telephone, email, and mail?
Will your work be indexed/archived in an easily discoverable databases?
Is the journal clear about the type of peer review it uses?
For journals with publication fees (color charges, Open Access) - are the fees clearly listed on the publisher's website? Reputable publishers should list their fees clearly and publicly.
Are the names of editorials board members listed and do you recognize any of the names?
Submit: If you can answer yes to these questions, then submit.
Finding Quality Journals
Use the following directories, resources, and tools to help find quality journals and discover predatory and deceptive ones.
- Cabell's Scholarly Publishing This link opens in a new windowA searchable directory of academic journals that helps researchers find the best place to publish, and includes a database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.
- DOAJ - Directory of Open Access JournalsAn authoritative and well regarded directory of open access academic journals. You can limit a search to medical journals and also ones that are peer reviewed.
- Journal Citations Reports This link opens in a new windowJournal Citation Reports® (JCR) presents quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data of the world's leading Science and Social Sciences journals. By compiling article level cited references, one can see the influence and impact at both the journal and category levels, and also the relationship between citing and cited journals.
- Journal Evaluation ToolFrom Loyola Marymount University; a multi-point evaluation checklist for assessing journal quality.
- Journals indexed in MedlineJournals must be peer reviewed and demonstrate editorial rigor to be included in the Medline database. Be aware that Medline is included in PubMed, but not everything in PubMed is in Medline.
- Journals Indexed in ScopusSearchable database of journals indexed in the Scopus database. Being indexed in Scopus is an indicator of a journal's quality and impact in the academic community.
- Master Journal List Web of Science (Clarivate)Searchable database of journals indexed in Web of Science and its associated platform. Journals have to demonstrate high levels of editorial rigor and best practices to be included in Web of Science.
- UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory This link opens in a new windowUlrich's™ is the authoritative source of bibliographic and publisher information on more than 300,00 periodicals of all types academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, peer-reviewed titles, popular magazines, newspapers, newsletters and more from around the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and that are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.
Need Help?
Need help or assistance with getting published?
Contact your Rowan Library:
Help with Publishing
To help with getting your research published make sure to check out these services and resources from Rowan University Libraries
- Open Access - The scholarly publishing model is changing. Learn about Open Access publishing options.
- ORCID - A unique, open digital identifier that distinguishes you from every other researchers. ORCIDs are increasingly being required for publicly funded research.
- Predatory Publishing - Resources to help you avoid being taken advantage of by publishers with questionable editorial policies and business practices.
- Read and Publish Agreements - Submit your work in quality, open access journals at no charge to Rowan faculty, staff, and students.
- Researcher Support Services - Rowan University Libraries offer a host of services to researchers at Rowan University through the Researcher Support Services team.