FACULTY - NEW
Kristin Bertsch, PhD
Assistant Professor
Family Medicine
Jones AC, Bertsch KN, Williams D, Channell MK. The Tensegrity curriculum: a comprehensive curricular structure supporting cultural humility in undergraduate medical education. Advances in Medical Education & Practice. 2024 May 3:15:381-392. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.2147/AMEP.S442569. PMID: 38715712. PMCID: PMC11075676.
Millicent Channell, DO
Professor, Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine
Associate Dean or Student Affairs
Jones AC, Bertsch KN, Williams D, Channell MK. The Tensegrity curriculum: a comprehensive curricular structure supporting cultural humility in undergraduate medical education. Advances in Medical Education & Practice. 2024 May 3:15:381-392. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.2147/AMEP.S442569. PMID: 38715712. PMCID: PMC11075676.
David Devilbiss, PhD
Assistant Professor
Cell Biology
Horvat L, Foschini A, Grinias JP, Waterhouse BD, Devilbiss DM. Repetitive mild traumatic brain injury impairs norepinephrine system function and psychostimulant responsivity. Brain Research. 2024 May 28;1839:149040. doi: 10.1016/j.brainres.2024.149040. PMID: 38815643. (Online ahead of print)
Daniel Hurst, PhD
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Director of Medical Professionalism, Ethics, and Humanities
Bobier C, Hurst DJ, Rodger D. Xenotransplantation under the Food and Drug Administration's Expanded Access pathway [Letter to the Editor]. American Journal of Transplantation. 2024 May 22:S1600-6135(24)00343-5. doi: 10.1016/j.ajt.2024.05.015. PMID: 38782186. (Online ahead of print)
Lederer MR, Hurst DJ. Out-of-hospital birth in medical education: a thematic analysis of question banks for medical licensing examinations in the United States. Southern Medical Journal. 2024 Jun;117(6):342-344. doi: 10.14423/SMJ.0000000000001696. PMID: 38830589.
Hurst DJ, Padilla LA. Ethical issues in the application of genome-wide association studies to US military recruitment and personnel assignments [Editorial]. BMJ Military Health. 2024 Jun 5:e002715. doi: 10.1136/military-2024-002715. PMID: 38839379. (Online ahead of print)
Anne C. Jones, DO, MPH
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Director of Student Affairs, RVSOM-Sewell Campus
Jones AC, Bertsch KN, Williams D, Channell MK. The Tensegrity curriculum: a comprehensive curricular structure supporting cultural humility in undergraduate medical education. Advances in Medical Education & Practice. 2024 May 3:15:381-392. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.2147/AMEP.S442569. PMID: 38715712. PMCID: PMC11075676.
Macey L, Candelori W, Singh S, Jones AC. Does melatonin improve sleep-onset insomnia and sleep duration in pediatric patients with ADHD? Evidence-Based Practice. 2024 Jun;27(6):13-14.
Archana Kumari, PhD
Assistant Professor
Cell Biology & Neuroscience
Kumari A, Franks NE, Li L, Audu G, Liskowicz S, Johnson JD, et al. Distinct expression patterns of Hedgehog signaling components in mouse gustatory system during postnatal tongue development and adult homeostasis. PLoS One. 2024 Jun 7;19(6):e0294835. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0294835. PMID: 38848388. PMCID: PMC11161123.
Altamash Raja, DO
Assistant Professor
Rehabilitation Medicine
Chen K, Raja A. Scaling new heights: a comprehensive analysis of rock climbing's impact on mental health [Conference Abstract]. Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine. 2024 Mar;34(2):192. doi: 10.1097/JSM.0000000000001211.
Todd Schachter, DO, FAOCP
Assistant Professor, Family Medicine
Director of Employee and Student Health
Phyu R, Patrizio HA, Schachter T. Ovarian carcinosarcoma mimicking symptoms of recurrent diverticulitis: a case report. Cureus. 2024 Apr 10;16(4):e57948. eCollection 2024 Apr. doi: 10.7759/cureus.57948. PMID: 38738152. PMCID: PMC11082829.
Barry Waterhouse, PhD
Professor
Cell Biology
Horvat L, Foschini A, Grinias JP, Waterhouse BD, Devilbiss DM. Repetitive mild traumatic brain injury impairs norepinephrine system function and psychostimulant responsivity. Brain Research. 2024 May 28;1839:149040. doi: 10.1016/j.brainres.2024.149040. PMID: 38815643. (Online ahead of print)
Deborah Williams, MD
Associate Professor
Cell Biology
Jones AC, Bertsch KN, Williams D, Channell MK. The Tensegrity curriculum: a comprehensive curricular structure supporting cultural humility in undergraduate medical education. Advances in Medical Education & Practice. 2024 May 3:15:381-392. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.2147/AMEP.S442569. PMID: 38715712. PMCID: PMC11075676.
HOUSE STAFF - NEW
William Candelori, DO
House Staff (Inspira – Mullica Hill)
Family Medicine
Macey L, Candelori W, Singh S, Jones AC. Does melatonin improve sleep-onset insomnia and sleep duration in pediatric patients with ADHD? Evidence-Based Practice. 2024 Jun;27(6):13-14.
Laurel Macey, MD
House Staff (Inspira – Mullica Hill)
Family Medicine
Macey L, Candelori W, Singh S, Jones AC. Does melatonin improve sleep-onset insomnia and sleep duration in pediatric patients with ADHD? Evidence-Based Practice. 2024 Jun;27(6):13-14.
Sanjay Singh, MD
House Staff (Inspira – Mullica Hill)
Family Medicine
Macey L, Candelori W, Singh S, Jones AC. Does melatonin improve sleep-onset insomnia and sleep duration in pediatric patients with ADHD? Evidence-Based Practice. 2024 Jun;27(6):13-14.
STUDENT - NEW
Sugosh Anur
SOM, Class of 2024
Anur SM, Melley LE, Sataloff RT. Prolonged ulcerative laryngitis. Ear, Nose & Throat Journal. 2024 May 14:1455613241246483. doi: 10.1177/01455613241246483. PMID: 38742488. (Online ahead of print)
Michael Bickford
SOM, Class of 2027
Chow AR, Bickford MS. Letter to the editor: "perioperative sleep quality disturbances in total joint arthroplasty is multifactorial". Journal of Arthroplasty. 2024 Jun;39(6):e47-e48. doi: 10.1016/j.arth.2024.03.011. PMID: 38749606.
Priya Brahmbhatt
SOM, Class of 2025
Boddeti U, Polavarapu H, Patel S, Choudhary A, Langbein J, Nusraty S, Vatsa S, Brahmbhatt P, et al. Current status of awake spine surgery: a bibliometric analysis. World Neurosurgery. 2024 May 6:S1878-8750(24)00749-6. doi: 10.1016/j.wneu.2024.04.179. PMID: 38719075. (Online ahead of print)
Kathy Chen
SOM, Class of 2024
Chen K, Raja A. Scaling new heights: a comprehensive analysis of rock climbing's impact on mental health [Conference Abstract]. Clinical Journal of Sport Medicine. 2024 Mar;34(2):192. doi: 10.1097/JSM.0000000000001211.
Alexis Chow
SOM, Class of 2027
Chow AR, Bickford MS. Letter to the editor: "perioperative sleep quality disturbances in total joint arthroplasty is multifactorial". Journal of Arthroplasty. 2024 Jun;39(6):e47-e48. doi: 10.1016/j.arth.2024.03.011. PMID: 38749606.
Seema Desai
SOM, Class of 2024
Kodali N, Alomary S, Lin M, Sikder S, Bhattaru A, Desai SD, Lipner SR. Retrospective analysis of immune markers and BRAF status in melanoma patients: implications for prognosis. Experimental Dermatology. 2024 May;33(5):e15105. doi: 10.1111/exd.15105. PMID: 38794818.
Salma Emara
SOM, Class of 2025
Elkattawy O, Shacker M, Alabed S, Elias D, Elkattawy S, Mohamed O, Mansour C, Hamlet C, Emara S, et al. Ventricular tachycardia in patients with Takotsubo cardiomyopathy: prevalence, predictors, and associated in-hospital adverse events. Cureus. 2024 Apr 6;16(4):e57724. eCollection 2024 Apr. doi: 10.7759/cureus.57724. PMID: 38711723. PMCID: PMC11073765.
Rebecca Fliorent
SOM, Class of 2025
Fliorent R, Benedetto C, Theroux Z. Metastatic triple-negative breast carcinoma mimicking melanoma: a potential diagnostic pitfall. Journal of Cutaneous Pathology. 2024 May 20. doi: 10.1111/cup.14658. PMID: 38767140. (Online ahead of print)
Emily Forester
SOM, Class of 2025
Forester E, Belsare A, Kim DW, et al. What proportion of BRCA-associated breast cancer is human epidermal growth factor 2-low and eligible for additional targeted therapy? Journal of Surgical Research. 2024 May 21:299:217-223. doi: 10.1016/j.jss.2024.04.032. PMID: 38776577. (Online ahead of print)
Alexis Foschini
SOM, Class of 2025
Horvat L, Foschini A, Grinias JP, Waterhouse BD, Devilbiss DM. Repetitive mild traumatic brain injury impairs norepinephrine system function and psychostimulant responsivity. Brain Research. 2024 May 28;1839:149040. doi: 10.1016/j.brainres.2024.149040. PMID: 38815643. (Online ahead of print)
Hamidul Islam
SOM, Class of 2027
Islam H, Ladak Z, Patel A, Lo DF. Assessing cardiovascular benefits of beetroot juice and exercise in women planning to conceive [Letter]. Journal of Hypertension. 2024 Jul 1;42(7):1282. Epub 2024 May 30. doi: 10.1097/HJH.0000000000003660. PMID: 38818840.
Lama Jadalla
SOM, Class of 2025
Carr RA, Tucker T, Newman PM, Jadalla L, et al. Nε-lysine acetylation of the histone-like protein HBsu influences antibiotic survival and persistence in Bacillus subtilis. Frontiers in Microbiology. 2024 May 21;15:1356733. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.3389/fmicb.2024.1356733. PMID: 38835483. PMCID: PMC11148388.
John Johnson
SOM, Class of 2024
Kumari A, Franks NE, Li L, Audu G, Liskowicz S, Johnson JD, et al. Distinct expression patterns of Hedgehog signaling components in mouse gustatory system during postnatal tongue development and adult homeostasis. PLoS One. 2024 Jun 7;19(6):e0294835. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0294835. PMID: 38848388. PMCID: PMC11161123.
Zarif Ladak
SOM, Class of 2027
Islam H, Ladak Z, Patel A, Lo DF. Assessing cardiovascular benefits of beetroot juice and exercise in women planning to conceive [Letter]. Journal of Hypertension. 2024 Jul 1;42(7):1282. Epub 2024 May 30. doi: 10.1097/HJH.0000000000003660. PMID: 38818840.
Magdalene Lederer
SOM, Class of 2024
Lederer MR, Hurst DJ. Out-of-hospital birth in medical education: a thematic analysis of question banks for medical licensing examinations in the United States. Southern Medical Journal. 2024 Jun;117(6):342-344. doi: 10.14423/SMJ.0000000000001696. PMID: 38830589.
David Lo
SOM, Class of 2025
Islam H, Ladak Z, Patel A, Lo DF. Assessing cardiovascular benefits of beetroot juice and exercise in women planning to conceive [Letter]. Journal of Hypertension. 2024 Jul 1;42(7):1282. Epub 2024 May 30. doi: 10.1097/HJH.0000000000003660. PMID: 38818840.
Samantha Mindlin
SOM, Class of 2024
Nian H, Odland R, Mindlin S, et al. Demographic characteristics, perinatal smoking patterns, and risk for neonatal health complications among pregnant smokers in the United States who begin using electronic cigarettes during pregnancy: a descriptive study using population-based surveillance data. Nicotine & Tobacco Research. 2024 May 23:ntae119. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntae119. PMID: 38779997. (Online ahead of print)
Rachel Odland
SOM, Class of 2024
Nian H, Odland R, Mindlin S, et al. Demographic characteristics, perinatal smoking patterns, and risk for neonatal health complications among pregnant smokers in the United States who begin using electronic cigarettes during pregnancy: a descriptive study using population-based surveillance data. Nicotine & Tobacco Research. 2024 May 23:ntae119. doi: 10.1093/ntr/ntae119. PMID: 38779997. (Online ahead of print)
Aarsh Patel
SOM, Class of 2027
Islam H, Ladak Z, Patel A, Lo DF. Assessing cardiovascular benefits of beetroot juice and exercise in women planning to conceive [Letter]. Journal of Hypertension. 2024 Jul 1;42(7):1282. Epub 2024 May 30. doi: 10.1097/HJH.0000000000003660. PMID: 38818840.
Paras Patel
SOM, Class of 2024
Wang JY, Bitterman D, Patel P, Kabakova M, Zafar K, Cohen M, Jagdeo J. Gender, racial, ethnic, and Fitzpatrick skin type representation in Acanthosis nigricans clinical trials. Archives of Dermatological Research. 2024 Jun 6;316(6):332. doi: 10.1007/s00403-024-02996-0. PMID: 38842735.
Harrison Patrizio
SOM, Class of 2025
Phyu R, Patrizio HA, Schachter T. Ovarian carcinosarcoma mimicking symptoms of recurrent diverticulitis: a case report. Cureus. 2024 Apr 10;16(4):e57948. eCollection 2024 Apr. doi: 10.7759/cureus.57948. PMID: 38738152. PMCID: PMC11082829.
Riley Phyu
SOM, Class of 2025
Phyu R, Patrizio HA, Schachter T. Ovarian carcinosarcoma mimicking symptoms of recurrent diverticulitis: a case report. Cureus. 2024 Apr 10;16(4):e57948. eCollection 2024 Apr. doi: 10.7759/cureus.57948. PMID: 38738152. PMCID: PMC11082829.
Luna Samman
SOM, Class of 2024
Akuffo-Addo E, Samman L, Munawar L, Akbik M, Kokikian N, Wescott R, Wu JJ. Assessing GPT-4's diagnostic accuracy with darker skin tones: underperformance and implications [Letter to the Editor]. Clinical and Experimental Dermatology. 2024 May 2:llae158. doi: 10.1093/ced/llae158. PMID: 38696699. (Online ahead of print)
Samman L, Bhullar P, Malik K, Rao BK. Eczema exacerbation following herpes zoster infection in an immunocompetent patient: a case report. SAGE Open Medical Case Reports. 2024 Jun 3;12:2050313X241259273. eCollection 2024. doi: 10.1177/2050313X241259273. PMID: 38835426. PMCID: PMC11149435.
Anahit Stepanyan
SOM, Class of 2026
Saleh Z, Floria I, Scalia D, Stepanyan A, et al. An atypical presentation of gonococcal endocarditis. JACC: Case Reports. 2024 May 16;29(12):102370. eCollection 2024 Jun 19. doi: 10.1016/j.jaccas.2024.102370. PMID: 38774637. PMCID: PMC11107455.
Daniella Toto
SOM, Class of 2024
Psihogios AM, Strachan L, Melch M, Ahmed AM, McKelvey ER, Sproch A, Toto D, et al. Activating adolescent and young adult involvement with cancer care responsibilities: a dyadic qualitative study with caregivers. Journal of Adolescent and Young Adult Oncology. 2024 May 8. doi: 10.1089/jayao.2023.0139. PMID: 38716776. (Online ahead of print)
Sonika Vatsa
SOM, Class of 2025
Boddeti U, Polavarapu H, Patel S, Choudhary A, Langbein J, Nusraty S, Vatsa S, Brahmbhatt P, et al. Current status of awake spine surgery: a bibliometric analysis. World Neurosurgery. 2024 May 6:S1878-8750(24)00749-6. doi: 10.1016/j.wneu.2024.04.179. PMID: 38719075. (Online ahead of print)
Matthew Wang
SOM, Class of 2026
Hansen E, Rolling C, Wang M, Holaska JM. Emerin deficiency drives MCF7 cells to an invasive phenotype. BioRxiv [Preprint]. 2024 Apr 26:2024.02.21.581379. doi: 10.1101/2024.02.21.581379. PMID: 38712242. PMCID: PMC11071294.
Malgorzata Zembrzuska
SOM, Class of 2026
Ramdin C, Zembrzuska M, Zembrzuski K, Nelson L. Layperson knowledge on naloxone and medications for opioid use disorder in an urban population: a cross sectional survey study. Journal of Addictive Diseases. 2024 May 19:1-9. doi: 10.1080/10550887.2024.2353431. PMID: 38764149. (Online ahead of print)
Krzysztof Zembrzuski
SOM, Class of 2024
Ramdin C, Zembrzuska M, Zembrzuski K, Nelson L. Layperson knowledge on naloxone and medications for opioid use disorder in an urban population: a cross sectional survey study. Journal of Addictive Diseases. 2024 May 19:1-9. doi: 10.1080/10550887.2024.2353431. PMID: 38764149. (Online ahead of print)
VOLUNTEER FACULTY - NEW
James Holaska, PhD
Adjunct Associate Professor (Volunteer)
Cell Biology
Hansen E, Rolling C, Wang M, Holaska JM. Emerin deficiency drives MCF7 cells to an invasive phenotype. BioRxiv [Preprint]. 2024 Apr 26:2024.02.21.581379. doi: 10.1101/2024.02.21.581379. PMID: 38712242. PMCID: PMC11071294.
Sean McMillan, DO, FAOAO
Clinical Associate Professor (Volunteer)
Surgery
Clancy M, Alruwaili F, Saeedi-Hosseiny MS, McMillan S, Iordachita II, Abedin-Nasab MH. Analysis and optimization of a 6-DoF 3-RRPS parallel mechanism for robot-assisted long-bone fracture surgery. Journal of Mechanisms and Robotics-Transactions of the ASME. 2024 Jun;16(6):061006. Epub 2023 Aug 29. doi: 10.1115/1.4063167.