Vetted Recommendations
When searching for background information - Start Here First! These resources have been vetted and recommended by your PBL faculty and the library.
Background Databases
-
Embase This link opens in a new window Embase is a database of references to biomedical journal articles and conference abstracts. It is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research.
-
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window MEDLINE contains journal articles on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences.
-
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is the foremost database of citations to articles in the biomedical literature, provided by the US National Library of Medicine.
-
Scopus This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of citations to journal articles. Scopus also provides tools to track, analyze, and visualize research across many scientific disciplines.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new window A multidisciplinary database of citations to journal articles. Web of Science also offers citation searching, and tools to track citation activity, trends, and publication patterns.
Need Help?
General Medicine
-
AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window Access to ebooks in multiple medical specialties. Also includes case files, videos, podcasts, and board review questions. To bookmark content and track your self-assessment, you will need to create a free personal account.
-
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window This point of care database draws from a large collection of clinical resources covering every medical and surgical specialty. ClinicalKey includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, and drug information.
-
STAT!Ref This link opens in a new window Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary, MedCalc 3000 and Board Vitals.
Faculty Recommended
-
*Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking
by
ISBN: 9781496398178Publication Date: 2020-08-26REQUIRED -
-
BRS Embryology
by
Succeed on the USMLE, other board exams, and course exams with this updated Sixth Edition of BRS Embryology. Acclaimed for its easy-to-read, easy-to-scan outline format, this bestselling book includes over 220 USMLE-style questions with complete answers and explanations, as well as exams at the end of each chapter and an end-of-book Comprehensive Examination. Enhanced by outstanding radiographs, sonograms, computed tomography scans, and clinical photographs of various congenital malformations, this proven book covers the facts and concepts tested on the USMLE within the context of human embryologic development. Offered in both print and online formats, the book boosts confidence and provides maximum accessibility and portability for in-class or on-the-go learning. " Maximize study time with the Board Review Series quick scan outline format. Prepare for the board exam with more than 220 USMLE-style questions and answers. Focus your board review PrepUsing the icons that highlight the information key to the USMLE exam. See the connection between human embryologic knowledge and clinical medicine through Clinical Considerations sections. Master key facts and information with illustrations and tables that summarize information for convenient review. Practice for the board examination using the comprehensive end-of-book exam. Enhance your visual understanding with high quality radiographic/ diagnostic and clinical images that clarify key facts and concepts Find key information fast with anytime, anywhere access to the fully searchable text on the free companion website, which also features interactive quizzing.
ISBN: 9781451190380Publication Date: 2014-04-22 -
-
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Twenty-Second Edition (Vol. 1 & Vol. 2)
by
ISBN: 9781265979317Publication Date: 2025-07-18 -
-
Medical Pronunciations Learn how to pronounce hundreds of medical words, from Merck & Co., Inc.
-
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations with CD-ROM
by
ISBN: 9781416058991Publication Date: 2016 -
