Clerkship Directors

The Fifth Edition of the highly praised Practical Guide for Medical Teachers provides a bridge between the theoretical aspects of medical education and the delivery of enthusiastic and effective teaching in basic science and clinical medicine. Healthcare professionals are committed teachers and this book is an essential guide to help them maximise their performance. This highly regarded book recognises the importance of educational skills in the delivery of quality teaching in medicine. The contents offer valuable insights into all important aspects of medical education today. A leading educationalist from the USA joins the book's editorial team. The continual emergence of new topics is recognised in this new edition with nine new chapters: The role of patients as teachers and assessors; Medical humanities; Decision-making; Alternative medicine; Global awareness; Education at a time of ubiquitous information; Programmative assessment; Student engagement; and Social accountability. An enlarged group of authors from more than 15 countries provides both an international perspective and a multi-professional approach to topics of interest to all healthcare teachers.

While medical schools usually emphasize the teaching of advanced scientific fundamentals through a carefully planned, formal curriculum, few focus on the equally crucial hidden curriculum of professional attitudes, skills, and behaviors. This concise and practical guide helps educators effectively prepare students for seldom-taught issues that arise daily in the practice of clinical medicine.In this volume, experienced clinician-educators offer real-world examples of various pedagogical and clinical scenarios, providing evidence- and theory-based approaches to managing three areas of growth: professional development, professionalism, and teaching. Acknowledging human fallibility, the editors begin with a framework that institutions, educators, and learners can use to promote well-being, outlining strategies for mindfulness training, relaxation techniques, appreciative inquiry, narrative medicine, and positive psychology. They then apply these strategies to additional developmental topics like failure, burnout, and improving resilience, social identity formation, and graceful self-promotion.The editors move on to discuss power differentials. They suggest ways of combatting microaggressions faced by women and minorities, fostering a safe learning environment where learners feel comfortable advocating in the setting of ethical dilemmas, recognizing and avoiding student mistreatment, and encouraging humility.They close with implications for the classroom, explaining the benefits and pitfalls of electronic health records and social media, the positive and negative attributes of role models, how to comfortably navigate controversial topics like gun ownership and abortion, and teaching empathy.With helpful infographics and case studies, this volume is a valuable resource for frontline educators who wish to help learners navigate the transition from layperson to medical professional.Contributors: Zareen Zaidi | Rebecca Beyth | Eric Rosenberg

Learning Clinical Reasoning uses a case-based approach to teach students the basics of clinical reasoning. The first section explains the chief components of the clinical reasoning process, such as generating and refining diagnostic hypotheses, using and interpreting diagnostic tests, assembling a working diagnosis, therapeutic decision-making, and examining and applying evidence, and also includes a discussion of cognitive errors. The second section contains 69 cases in which clinicians "think out loud" about diagnostic and therapeutic dilemmas, and the authors critique these clinicians' reasoning. This edition has thirty new cases from the New England Journal of Medicine and other sources and expanded discussions of evidence-based medicine, clinical practice guidelines, and cognitive errors.

Offering knowledge and insight from medical leaders and prominent educators, Leadership Careers in Medical Education serves as a guide for current faculty and future leaders on how to launch, sustain, and further develop one's career in medical education. Examining the knowledge, skills, and attitudes associated with leadership in medical education, this book provides: Historical and contemporary perspectives on the organizational structure of internal medicine education in academic health centres Principles of medical education leadership The roles and responsibilities associated with careers in medical education Advice on leveraging existing resources and articulating the need for more Methods for designing a curriculum, evaluating learners and programs, and getting started in education research Practical suggestions for managing and advancing one's career A special section, "Profiles of Leaders in Medical Education", features interviews with 15 esteemed leaders in internal medicine education about their chosen careers and how they achieved their goals. A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.

Created in partnership with the Association for the Study of Medical Education (ASME), this completely revised and updated new edition of Understanding Medical Education synthesizes the latest knowledge, evidence and best practice across the continuum of medical education. Written and edited by an international team, this latest edition continues to cover a wide range of subject matter within five broad areas - Foundations, Teaching and Learning, Assessment and Selection, Research and Evaluation, and Faculty and Learners - as well as featuring a wealth of new material, including new chapters on the science of learning, knowledge synthesis, and learner support and well-being. The third edition of Understanding Medical Education: Provides a comprehensive and authoritative resource summarizing the theoretical and academic bases to modern medical education practice Meets the needs of all newcomers to medical education whether undergraduate or postgraduate, including those studying at certificate, diploma or masters level Offers a global perspective on medical education from leading experts from across the world Providing practical guidance and exploring medical education in all its diversity, Understanding Medical Education continues to be an essential resource for both established educators and all those new to the field.

Mentoring students, residents, and faculty and supporting their professional development are topics of great concern among leaders in medical education. Offering knowledge and insight from a range of experienced physician-educators and others involved in medical education, Mentoring in Academic Medicine provides a unique perspective on medical professionalism in the coming decades as well as a comprehensive approach to developing programs for mentorship and guidance. Illustrated with realistic cases and examples, this book provides: Insight into effective mentoring relationships and fostering professionalism Guidelines for developing mentoring programs for students, residents, and clinical and research faculty A consideration of the issues that arise related to mentoring special groups Multiple perspectives on role modeling and guiding others to be successful in their careers A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.

For the first time in history there are four or five generations interacting regularly in society and in the workplace. Sociology and popular culture call them Traditionalists, Baby Boomers, Generation X, Millennials, and Generation Z. While intergenerational differences have always been present, the likelihood that someone may be interacting with, working with, or supervising individuals three generations distant is becoming more commonplace. Our goal is to raise awareness of the impact of generational issues on medical education and to help medical educators, trainees, supervisors, and employers understand how the different generations learn, work, interact with patients, and lead.

Chapter topics include: Clinical Reasoning and Diagnostic Error Theoretical Concepts to Consider in Providing Clinical Reasoning Instruction Developing a Curriculum in Clinical Reasoning Educational Approaches to Common Cognitive Errors General Teaching Techniques Assessment of Clinical Reasoning Faculty Development and Dissemination Lifelong Learning in Clinical Reasoning Remediation of Clinical Reasoning Novel Approaches and Future Directions Teaching Clinical Reasoning: Where do we go from here?

The complexity of hospitalized patients and the day-to-day issues that arise on inpatient services make teaching in the hospital as challenging as it is unique. Hospital-based medical educators (hospitalists and attending physicians) must be adaptable and teach a wide range of topics, all while administering effective patient care. Written by experts in the field, Teaching in the Hospital offers a unique perspective on the goals of inpatient teaching and practical advice for hospitalists and attendings who teach on the wards. This book provides hospital-based educators with tools and techniques for: Establishing and communicating expectations and responsibilities Conducting rounds to ensure education complements patient care Enhancing learning by using illustrations, analogies, mnemonics, and other "tricks of the trade" Coaching learners in the science of clinical reasoning, communication, time management, and interpersonal relations This unique book includes clinical problem-based "teaching scripts" illustrating the dialogues that can take place around 15 of the most frequently encountered inpatient clinical problems. A part of ACP's Teaching Medicine Series, this title is available individually or as a part of the complete six-book set.