Welcome to Gastroenterology, Endocrinology & Reproduction 2
Gastroenterology is a medical specialty that deals with the normal functions, disorders and diseases affecting the digestive system. Gastroenterologists are specially trained in all areas of the digestive system which includes the gastrointestinal tract, pancreas, live, bile ducts, and gallbladder. It involves a detailed understanding of the normal physiology of the gastrointestinal organs as well as common conditions such as polyps, hepatitis, ulcers, colitis, and pancreatitis.
Endocrinology is the study of hormones. Hormones influence or control a wide range of physiological activities such as growth, development, puberty, appetite, and bone growth. An endocrinologist is a specialist who treats diseases related to problems with hormones and the endocrine system including the pituitary, thyroid, and adrenal glands.
Reproductive medicine concerns the male and female reproductive systems. It encompasses a variety of reproductive conditions, their prevention and assessment, as well as their subsequent treatment and prognosis. Reproductive Endocrinologists are gynecologists who have additional training in infertility and fertility treatment; they treat both male and female fertility issues.
General E-Book Databases
Access to more than 75 medical ebooks including Harrison's Online and Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, frequently updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, point of care tools, case files, diagnostic tools, and more. (Mobile Compatible)
Clinical Key draws from the large collection of clinical resources published by Elsevier covering every medical and surgical specialty. It includes journals, books, practice guidelines, patient education, drug information and MEDLINE citations and abstracts from PubMed, as well as multimedia. Clinical Key replaces MD Consult and First Consult which have been discontinued by Elsevier.
- LWW Health Library for Medical Education (Ebooks, Images, Cases and Procedures) This link opens in a new window
The LWW Health Library for Medical Education provides access to select E-books, images, cases and procedures on many subjects and medical specialties.
Stat!Ref provides access to a select group of clinical textbooks and manuals covering several medical disciplines including nursing. Stat!Ref also provides access to Stedman's Medical Dictionary and MedCalc 3000.
General Medicine E-Books
Dictionaries etc.
Dorland's Dictionary of Medical Acronyms and Abbreviations with CD-ROM by ISBN: 9781416058991Publication Date: 2016
