Block Description
Welcome to the Gastroenterology and Nutrition portion of your learning!
This block will provide students with a broad‐based education in the gastrointestinal (GI) system and the foundation of nutrition.
The content will cycle through the normal structure and function of the GI systems to pathology, diagnosis and treatment of disease.
In corollary, students will be introduced to the foundation of appropriate nutrition and the consequences of poor nutrition.
This block also incorporates the evaluation, management and treatment GI and nutritional diseases. This incorporates the comprehensive services of disease prevention, early detection and health promotion.
We look forward to assisting you during your educational journey.
Please, feel free to seek assistance from one of us here in the library!
Selected E-Books
To find additional medical e-books, specifically, search our Medical E-Books Collection. You may, also, use our Library Search for a variety of resources held by Rowan's University Libraries.
Clinical Care of the Child with Obesity: a Learner's and Teacher's Guide by ISBN: 9780071819718Publication Date: 2015-12-03
Sleisenger and Fordtran's Gastrointestinal and Liver Disease- 2 Volume Set by ISBN: 9780323609623Publication Date: 2020-06-15
Thank you WikiMedia Commons
https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/e/ed/Digestive_system_without_labels.svg
Required Reading
Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques by
This one-of-a-kind reference is ideal for exam preparation and clinical rotations, as well as an excellent refresher for day-to-day clinical practice. Get step-by-step, full-color guidance on manipulative methods commonly taught and used in osteopathic medical education and practice. More than 1,000 vibrant photos and illustrations highlight concise, readable text--all on the same or adjacent page for quick and easy reference. The third edition includes extensive additions to the chapter on cranial techniques, as well as significantly revised overviews of high-velocity, low-amplitude techniques, muscle energy techniques, and counterstrain techniques.
ISBN: 1451193416Publication Date: 2015-10-13
General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System (THIEME Atlas of Anatomy) by
Remarkable atlas provides exceptionally detailed, clinically relevant anatomic knowledge! Praise for the prior edition: "This book is an ideal text not only for students of various disciplines studying anatomy for the first time, but it also serves as a valuable resource for faculty and providers." - Yale Journal of Biology and Medicine Thieme Atlas of Anatomy: General Anatomy and Musculoskeletal System, Third Edition by renowned educators Michael Schuenke, Erik Schulte, and Udo Schumacher, along with consulting editor Nathan Johnson, expands on the award-winning prior editions with updated spreads and added information on joints, muscle actions, and functional muscle groups. Organized by region, the book begins with an introduction on basic human embryology and development and an overview of the human body. Subsequent general anatomy chapters explore surface anatomy, the bones, joints, muscles, vessels, lymphatic system and glands, and general neuroanatomy. The next section delineates the trunk wall, functional musculature, and the neurovascular system, while the last two sections are dedicated to the upper limb and lower limb. Key Features Nearly 2,100 images including extraordinarily realistic illustrations by Markus Voll and Karl Wesker, X-rays, MRIs, CT scans, diagrams, tables, and descriptive text provide an unparalleled wealth of information about muscle structure and bones Musculoskeletal, vascular, and nervous system structures are presented systematically first, then topographically, thereby supporting classroom learning and active laboratory dissection Emphasizes important relationships between anatomic structure and function in addition to introducing clinical applications, providing knowledge trainees can apply in practice Online images with "labels-on and labels-off" capability are ideal for review and self-testing This visually stunning atlas is a must have for medical, allied health, and physical therapy students, instructors, and practicing physical and massage therapists. It is also a wonderful anatomic reference for professional artists and illustrators. The THIEME Atlas of Anatomy series also includes two additional volumes, Internal Organs and Head, Neck, and Neuroanatomy. All volumes of the THIEME Atlas of Anatomy series are available in softcover English/International Nomenclature and in hardcover with Latin nomenclature. This book includes complimentary access to a digital copy on https://medone.thieme.com.
ISBN: 9781626237186Publication Date: 2020-05-08
Foundations for Osteopathic Medicine by
Thoroughly revised for its Second Edition, Foundations for Osteopathic Medicine is the only comprehensive, current osteopathic text. It provides broad, multidisciplinary coverage of osteopathic considerations in the basic sciences, behavioral sciences, family practice and primary care, and the clinical specialties and demonstrates a wide variety of osteopathic manipulative methods. This edition includes new chapters on biomechanics, microbiology and infectious diseases, health promotion and maintenance, osteopathic psychiatry, emergency medicine, neuromusculoskeletal medicine, rehabilitation, sports medicine, progressive inhibition of neuromuscular structures, visceral manipulation, A.T. Still osteopathic methods, treatment of acutely ill hospital patients, somatic dysfunction, clinical research and trials, outcomes research, and biobehavioral interactions with disease and health.
ISBN: 0781734975Publication Date: 2002-10-07
Junqueira's Basic Histology: Text and Atlas, Fifteenth Edition by
For more than four decades, Junqueira's Basic Histology has built a global reputation as the most accessible, yet comprehensive overview of human tissue structure and function available. It delivers a well-organised and concise presentation of cell biology and histology integrated with biochemistry, immunology, endocrinology and physiology. Junqueira's is written specifically for students of medicine and other health-related professions, as well as for advanced undergraduate courses in tissue biology. Electron and light micrographs comprise a definitive atlas of cell, tissue and organ structures. NEW! * Each chapter now includes multiple-choice questions to assess comprehension of important material, with some questions utilising clinical vignettes or cases to provide real-world relevance *Summary of Key Points highlight what is important *Acclaimed art and figures facilitate learning and visualisation of key aspects of cell biology and histology *Clinical Correlations presented with each topic *In-depth coverage of all tissues, organ systems, bone and cartilage, blood and skin *Valuable appendix on light microscopy stains clearly explains this need-to-know staining technique
ISBN: 9781260026177Publication Date: 2018-08-09
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Mastering essential microbiology concepts is easier with this vividly illustrated review resource. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this proven approach uses clear, concise writing and hundreds of dynamic illustrations to take students inside various microorganisms and ensure success on board exams. Straightforward lecture-style outlines streamline the review process, accompanied by hundreds of colorful illustrations that make complex concepts more accessible and bring microorganisms to life in vibrant detail. This edition makes exam preparation more efficient than ever with an emphasis on exam-relevant content, as well as hundreds of board-style review questions that help students confidently prepare for the USMLE. Revised coverage familiarizes students with the topics and approaches they're most likely to encounter on exams and in clinical settings. Lecture-style outline format guides students step-by-step through essential concepts. More than 400 full-color illustrations clarify complex microorganisms and common processes. Chapter overviews highlight the most critical information and make studying more efficient and effective. Illustrated case studies challenge students to apply their understanding to commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Hundreds of USMLE-style review questions help students assess their understanding and prepare for exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
ISBN: 1496395859Publication Date: 2019-05-03
Medical Physiology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Delivering the most up-to-date information available in a rich, engaging presentation, Medical Physiology: Principles for Clinical Medicine, 6th Edition, instills a complete understanding of physiology essential to effective clinical practice. This robust text not only details how the human body reacts to internal and external changes but also provides a deep understanding of how physiologic systems coordinate to maintain optimal health, as well as the involvement of altered functions in disease processes. Extensively updated throughout and fully aligned with today's medical curriculum, the 6th Edition emphasizes the physiologic principles key to understanding human function, places them in their fundamental context in clinical medicine, and provides opportunities for student self-directed and team-based learning through case studies, clinical application exercises, and board-style review questions. NEW! Physiology of Aging and Organ Function chapter details the impact of aging on the body as it relates to human function. New and revised content throughout familiarizes you with the latest perspectives on cardiovascular physiology, neuromuscular physiology, gastrointestinal physiology, endocrine physiology, exercise physiology, and more. Updated USMLE-style review questions with answers provide valuable self-assessment and board exam prep. Clinical Focus essays clarify how and where physiology relates to clinical medicine and diagnosis. Integrated Medical Sciences essays alert you to important connections between physiology and other basic sciences. Clinical Applications exercises offer practice applying clinical knowledge and solving problems. Conceptual diagrams strengthen comprehension of difficult concepts and present both normal and abnormal clinical conditions. Active Learning Objectives, Chapter Summaries, and full-color artwork and tables make learning engaging and efficient. Additional online resources provide instant access to animations, additional review questions, additional clinical application exercises, advanced clinical problem-solving exercises, and suggested readings.
ISBN: 9781975160432Publication Date: 2022-07-28
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology 14th Edition by
The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
ISBN: 1259641155Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Recommended/Encouraged Materials
Color Atlas and Text of Histology by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021! Magnify your understanding of histology with Color Atlas and Text of Histology --the student's go-to tool for histology mastery! The Seventh Edition of this text and atlas combines traditional topics with modern research to provide medical, dental, allied health, and biology students with a concise review of all of the major tissue classes and body systems. Consistent presentation of histologic plates comprising relevant concise text and photomicrographs facilitates understanding as well as review both for in-class and licensing examinations. Helpful explanatory text in each chapter includes Introductions, new Histophysiology sections, Clinical Considerations, and Summaries of Histological Organization. Numerous tables have also been added to make the material easier to grasp. This atlas features more than 700 vivid, full-color and high-quality photomicrographs, scanning electron micrographs, and schematic illustrations to give students the full histologic picture. New to the seventh edition: Revised and updated text ensures that each chapter offers the most current histology and related concepts. Reorganized chapter content clearly delineates morphology and histophysiology sections. Expanded Histologic Techniques chapter elucidates various stains and techniques. Abundant tables organize related topics for quick, easy absorption and review. Clinical Considerations with clinical images demonstrate the link between histology and pathophysiology. Full-page Graphics provide a representational orientation before zooming in on micrographs. Helpful full-color thumbnail drawings complement micrographs for enhanced interpretation. New appendix helps students distinguish between tissues that resemble each other. New Review Plates at the end of each chapter. An interactive question bank of multiple-choice review questions is available for students via thePoint.
ISBN: 1496346734Publication Date: 2017-04-07
Histology: a Text and Atlas by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Combining a reader-friendly textbook and a rich, full-color atlas, this bestselling resource equips medical, dental, health professions, and undergraduate biology and cell biology students with a comprehensive grasp of the clinical and functional correlates of histology and a vivid understanding of the structural and functional details of cells, tissues, and organs. Updated content throughout the text reflects the latest advances in cellular and molecular biology, accompanied by large, high-resolution illustrations and full-color photomicrographs that clarify microanatomy in vibrant detail. Ideal for integrated curriculums as well as standalone histology courses, this proven approach is accompanied by popular pedagogical features that distill complex information and help students save time. "Two-in-one" approach supplements clearly written chapters with dynamic atlas plates to enhance understanding at the point of learning. Updated content equips students with the most current, clinically relevant understanding of cellular and molecular biology. 435 high-resolution, full-color digital photomicrographs across more than 100 atlas plates clarify key structures. Updated full-color illustrations and clinical images refine students' understanding of microanatomy and cell and molecular biology in rich detail. Updated Histology "101" Notebook reviews summarize chapter content in a concise, notebook-style format preferred by students. Color-coded text highlights key terms and clinical information for fast, efficient reference. Boxed Clinical Correlation Folders familiarize students with conditions they may encounter on rotations during clerkship. Tables and bulleted text give quick access to staining techniques and other essential chapter details. Online USMLE-style multiple-choice review questions and clinical vignettes help students assess their understanding and prepare for board exams. eBook available for purchase. Fast, smart, and convenient, today's eBooks can transform learning. These interactive, fully searchable tools offer 24/7 access on multiple devices, the ability to highlight and share notes, and more
ISBN: 9781496383426Publication Date: 2018-12-27
Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition by
The most dynamic, comprehensive, and student-friendly text on the nature of microorganisms and the fascinating processes they employ in producing infections disease A Doody's Core Title for 2021! For more than a quarter-of-a-century, no other text has explained the link between microbiology and human disease states better than Sherris Medical Microbiology, Seventh Edition. Through a vibrant, engaging approach, this classic gives readers a solid grasp of the significance of etiologic agents, the pathogenic processes, epidemiology, and the basis of therapy for infectious diseases. Part I of Sherris Medical Microbiology opens with a non-technical chapter that explains the nature of infection and the infection agents. The following four chapters provide more detail about the immune response to infection and the prevention, epidemiology, and diagnosis of infectious disease. Parts II through V form the core of the text with chapters on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases. Each of these sections opens with chapters on basic biology, pathogenesis, and antimicrobial agents. No other text clarifies the link between microbiology and human disease states like Sherris 57 chapters that simply and clearly describe the strains of viruses, bacteria, fungi, and parasites that can bring about infectious diseases Explanations of host-parasite relationship, dynamics of infection, and host response A clinical cases with USMLE-style questions concludes each chapter on the major viral, bacterial, fungal, and parasitic diseases All tables, photographs, and illustrations are in full color Clinical Capsules cover the essence of the disease(s) caused by major pathogens Margin Notes highlight key points within a paragraph to facilitate review In addition to the chapter-ending case questions, a collection of 100 practice questions is also included
ISBN: 9781259859809Publication Date: 2018-01-04
Berne and Levy Physiology by
Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples-all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians. Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function. Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science. Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system. Begins each chapter with a bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323847902Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by
Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323597128Publication Date: 2020-06-16
BRS Physiology by
The leading physiology review on the market, BRS Physiology, 8th Edition, delivers a concise, highly efficient review of all essential physiology concepts students encounter in the first and second year of medical school, as well as more than 350 clinical vignette-style, multiple-choice questions to help them prepare for course exams and practice for the USMLE Step 1. This bestselling title in the Board Review Series is preferred by students for its comprehensive yet efficient approach to exam prep and trusted by instructors for author Linda S. Costanzo's masterful approach, communicating complex physiology concepts in an accessible manner. Extensively updated and incorporating abundant illustrations, flow charts, tables, and a comprehensive practice exam, this 8th Edition equips today's students with the unparalleled preparation and confidence to excel on exams and beyond. Study efficiently with a concise outline format that makes essential information easy to review at a glance. Prepare for course and board exams with topical chapter questions and a 100-question Comprehensive Exam, accompanied by complete answers, rationales, and cross-references for efficient remediation. More than 260 multiple-choice questions in chapter exams test students' understanding of chapter content; detailed explanations provide an additional learning tool. Build long-term retention with more than 120 full-color illustrations and charts that clarify complex information, as well as 50 detailed tables. Reference essential information conveniently with appendices on Key Physiology Topics for the USMLE Step 1, Key Physiology Equations for the USMLE Step I, and Normal Blood Values. Create connections between physiology knowledge and clinical medicine with new Clinical Correlation boxes.
ISBN: 9781975153601Publication Date: 2022-07-01
We are here to help!
Let us know if you find things you would like added to these guides! We are always happy to help.
Click on the content tabs to access textbooks and study tools important for this block.
You can also get the list of 2nd Year SGL Required and Recommended Books from another guide.
We have guides for your other blocks and courses too!
