Medical Databases: Welcome

Embase is a biomedical literature database with a focus on key areas of drug, disease, and device research.  The database holds over 37M records from 81K journals coming out of at least 97 different countries along with comprehensive conference coverage giving you access to research and conference abstracts before they are published.

As the largest subset of PubMed, Medline is a biomedical citation database that contains over 29M citations and abstracts from 5600 journals from around the world.  The journals included in Medline are purposefully selected by committee based on the quality of their content, originality, and the importance of that content; these journals are more closely scrutinized and evaluated than others found on PubMed.

Created by the National Library of Medicine PubMed is a biomedical citation database containing over 35M citations stemming primarily from the biomedicine and health fields as well as related disciplines like bioengineering and the life, behavioral, and chemical sciences. 

An abstract and citation database with comprehensive content coverage across 240 scientific disciplines.  With 1.7B cited references from 25K active titles from around the world all vetted and selected by an independent review board made up of an international group of scientists and researchers, it's one of the larger databases available.

WOS is a global multidisciplinary discovery platform that hosts many different databases each with unique content grouped together into collections.  Completely independent of publishers the source material and all of its references are indexed meaning, they include not only the most significant scholarly content but everything that contributed to it as well.

A collection of databases used to inform health care decision making.  There is a 1:1 relationship between clinical answers and the systematic review that answer is distilled from, making it easy for clinicians to find the best evidence available.  The gold standard for systematic reviews.

A clinician focused tool designed to facilitate efficient and evidence-based patient care.  A tool to help inform decisions by giving you access to content that's based on a rigorous evidence-based methodology and clinical expertise that both complements and helps to clarify that evidence.  The main purpose is to give the clinician a user-friendly experience that delivers fast yet accurate answers to clinical questions at the point of care.

An evidence-based point of care tool for primary care clinicians.  A combination of 5 databases that provide access to 13K+ topics, guidelines, systematic reviews, research summaries, and calculators relating to treatment and diagnoses.  POEMS are daily research summaries; a quick synopsis of new evidence filtered for relevance to patient care.

A full text point of care tool drawing from 13 clinical databases and 4 clinical apps; great for drug info.  Includes drug references, drug decision support, drug compatibility and interactions, drug comparisons, formulary monograph service, safety data sheets, and toxicology reports.  Users can search and browse for patient education leaflets concerning conditions, procedures and medications.  

A database written to help guide the decision-making process at the point of care with quickly consumable content that includes the best tests to order for each diagnosis, management recs, therapy options, and information on adverse medication reactions.  With over 46K images that you can view each diagnosis is visually presented to help build up your diagnostic confidence.  The top resource for the representation of darker skin.  

International bibliographic references covering life science and biomedical research literature going as far back as 1969.

Scientific video demos that aid with reproducibility of experiments and the comprehension of scientific concepts and experimental methods.  Users can search by research or education topic including: Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Developmental Biology, Immunology & Infection, and Neuroscience.

The National Center for Biomedical Information database; a portal for global cross databases NCBI searches pertaining to genes, proteins, and genomes.

A multi-disciplinary database that covers all academic disciplines and access to journal, magazine, and news articles.  Offers specific access to Alt Health Watch and Health Source - the Nursing/Education edition.  Users can also specify which databases they want to search or look across all disciplines.

A designated section of the BMJ database that allows users to search specifically through and for case reports.

A registry and results database of publicly and privately funded clinical studies of human participants.  The database provides current information about clinical research studies.

Search across a wide variety of scholarly literature from journals, university repositories, and other identified scholarly sites.

A multi-disciplinary database of journal, magazine, and news articles covering all academic fields from 27 subject databases.  Users can specifically select which database to search or search across all available academic fields.

PolicyMap is a US-National web-based Geographic Information System used to understand communities and visualize large amounts of data quickly and easily, often down to the census tract or block group level. Included is their extensive data collection, with 15,000+ indicators used to understand communities, organized into general categories including demographics, income and spending, housing, lending activity, quality of life, economy, education, health, federal guidelines, and other analysis. In addition, students and faculty can easily upload and incorporate their data into and leverage it against the thousands of indicators already available.

A database that provides a quick way to renew anatomical knowledge using realistic 3D quality pictures.  Used primarily as an adjunct to dissection and a review tool, the narration is given in simple language and the learning aid presents images of a real human body in 3D with direct recordings of human anatomic specimens; the tissue retains the color, texture, and mobility of a living body.  The videos start at foundational skeleton and work outwards - bones to joints and movement, muscles, blood vessels and nerves.  All videos 3min or less.

The database provides 3D images of different anatomical regions - functional anatomy, physiology videos, and diagnostic imaging with labels.  With profile creation users can individualize the database and make their dashboard responsive to their specialization, save content, and get relevant help and tutorials tailored to their usage.  Content included 3D models, dissections, clinical (disease and conditions), physiology, muscle function, guided learning, and assessments.

Over 3K images grouped by body region.  Images include cross-sectional, gross, and radiological.  Users can search based on image type and the images are annotated and linked to definitions.

A companion to the Bates textbook this database provides access to videos that show head to toe and system based exam techniques all 5min or less.  Also included videos on communication and interpersonal skills that are all 10min or less and OSCE clinical skills that are 30min or less.

A bibliographic index for osteopathic medicine literature.  The database includes citations for books, journals, video, and images as well as access to the Osteopathic Medical Digital Repository.

Cabell's is a great place to start figuring out which journals are the best place to publish.  It contains the Whiltelist - a directory of academic journals that helps researchers find the best place to publish, and the Blacklist, a searchable database of deceptive and predatory academic journals.  

Provides information on not only the grants available in various disciplines but also on the grantmakers and organizations themselves. 

Presents statistical information based on the citation data of leading science and social science journals.  Users can see the influence and impact at both the journal and subject level.

A free tool that will help you to evaluate the best journal for your research.

A discovery tool that will help users find research opportunities, funding, and collaborators. Provides detailed award information along with links to investigator profiles and current opportunities. Also, the only database that will provide alerts on conference calls for papers and presentations.