Problem-Based Learning
Problem-Based Learning, or PBL, is a student-centered approach to learning.
PBL is a teaching method in which students learn by actively engaging in real-world, case-based presentations. These presentations are the catalyst for acquiring the basic science and clinical knowledge needed to understand the major systems and develop the clinical and critical thinking skills necessary to becoming exceptional DOs. By following a double-pass, systems-based model, students are able to dive deep into the integrated study of both basic and clinical sciences over the course of their pre-clerkship years.
Due to the independent nature of the PBL track, emphasis is determined by each group's learning issues, or LIs. By teaching each other and learning together students work collectively toward the goal of becoming self-directed and life-long learners.
But how, exactly, do you create an LI? That is what this LibGuide will show you!
Getting Started
LIs begin with a focused question drawn from the discussion held in your small groups. From there, you need to decide whether you are going to focus on one small aspect of that question or, more broadly, on the topic as a whole; deciding what is best for your group based on the cases you've been presented with and where you still have questions.
You are the teacher here! You need to understand your topic well enough to teach it to the rest of your group. A full understanding of your topic now, will save time when studying for exams later.
Start by checking the LibGuide for that block. The LibGuides are full of evidence-based resources recommended and vetted by your facilitators and block directors. Figure out where your question would fall and start there; making a list of possibilities to check out - e-books, databases, and online companion sources.
My first stop would be a book. Gather the background knowledge necessary to fully understand the topic from a bird's eye view and then drill down into the specifics of the question at hand. The majority of your e-books can be found using these three databases below. However, we do have access to a lot more and a simple subject search of the library's holdings can yield other options.
You can toggle between searching the entirety of the library's holdings or specify the medical e-book collection.
An example of results for the first PBL blocks:
MSK E-Books Hematology & Oncology E-Books
And for those who prefer print, you'll be able to find the print version of the books highlighted on the block's LibGuide, either on reserve behind the circulation desk or on the shelves. Simply ask the person staffing the desk for assistance.
- LWW Health Library for Medical Education (Ebooks, Images, Cases and Procedures) This link opens in a new window
Check out the databases, both the clinical research databases (background questions - broader questions for general knowledge) and the point-of-care databases (foreground questions - specific questions/answers backed up by vetted evidence), depending on your question's focus. The medical databases can be filtered, by subject, in a drop-down to help narrow your search.
If you are unfamiliar with a platform there are tutorials available on the Medical Databases libguide.
Faculty Recommendations:
Background
- Embase This link opens in a new window
- MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Foreground
Check out the web-based companion sources that may answer specific aspects of your question, or answer them in a different way.
General Resources
Companion sources that speak to specific topics (i.e. histology, physiology, microbiology, pathology) can be found within the block specific libguides.
Finally, you can use various exam prep or board review resources to check your group for a basic understanding of your LI.
These questions will also come in handy when studying for your block exams.
Board Review material should NOT be your primary source of information while studying or researching.
Review means to view again - these books should be for review purposes only.
