Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences Library

Faculty Development - Rowan-Virtua SOM: 7/11/25 (Newsletter)

Resources for clinical and academic faculty

7/11/25 (Newsletter)

Rowan-Virtua SOM Header

July 2025

CONTENTS (Click to Jump to Section)

INTRODUCTION

As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. 

Be Safe.

Thank you, Steve

ANNOUNCEMENTS
  • White Coat Note Campaign
    • From announcement: "Help welcome the incoming class! Make a gift of $100 (or more) and write a note of encouragement to be tucked into a student's white coat pocket.Even if you don't know a student personally, your note can still make a lasting impact. Submit an undesignated note, and we'll match it with someone who hasn't received one yet."
      Please submit your notes by Friday, July 25, by visiting go.rowan.edu/SOMWhiteCoatNote
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM: AI and Medical Education Discussion Group
    7/15, 12pm-1pm, Webex, No registration is required. Please forward this information as needed
    • Facilitated by: Steve Garwood, EdD, Director of Faculty Development & James Martin II, PhD, Assistant Professor, Medical Education & Scholarship
      Location: Webex (pword: somai)
  • The Informed Researcher: Library Workshops for Biomedical Scientists & Physicians
    • About the series: The workshop series will focus on faculty and staff at SOM, emphasizing how the library and its many resources fit into their research lifecycle. The workshops will run monthly from July to November on the third Thursday of each month from 4pm to 5pm and will be hosted on Webex. Webex information will be provided upon registration.
    • Workshops:
      • Navigating the Publishing Landscape: Open Access Opportunities & Predatory Pitfalls (7/17/25)
      • Strategic Publishing: Leveraging Read & Publish Agreements to Maximize Your Research Availability (8/21/25)
      • Beyond Basic Searches: Advanced Techniques for Research Excellence (9/18/25)
      • Hidden Power Tools: Browser Extensions Every Researcher Should Know (10/16/25)
      • Your Research Signature: Using ORCID to Amplify Your Research Visibility (11/20/25) 
        Register for any or all of the workshops in this series
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM: Faculty Development Series - Dates & Topics (May-June)
    (All on Friday, 7am-8am, Webex)
    • 7/18, Pedagogical Content Knowledge: Bridging Content Expertise and Effective Teaching (CME)
      Steve Garwood, EdD, Director of Faculty Development, Rowan-Virtua SOM
  • Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC)
    • Webinar Series: AI Skill Building for Medical Educators
      • From announcement: "From foundational concepts and ethical considerations to hands-on strategies for prompting, evaluating outputs, curriculum design, clinical education, and scholarly work, this series will equip participants with practical competencies for responsible and effective AI use. Led by experienced educators and thought leaders in medical education, each monthly session offers actionable insights and tools to help you integrate AI into your teaching, assessment, and professional development. Whether you're just getting started or looking to deepen your expertise, this series offers a supportive and structured path toward AI literacy and leadership."
        More information and to register
    • Learn, Serve, Lead: AAMC Annual Meeting - Registration Now Open
      11/1-11/5, San Antonio, TX
      • The premier academic medicine event of the year is back—bigger, bolder, and timelier than ever. Think leading minds. Real scenarios and solutions. Unmatched networking. It’s not just a meeting—it’s where impactful conversations unfold, challenges are unpacked, and ideas gain momentum.
        More information and to register
  • IAMSE Fall 2025 Web Seminar Series: Environmental Disasters Affecting Health Professions Education...Surviving the Storm and After.
    9/4, 9/11, 9/18, 9/25, 10/2, 12pm-1pm via Zoom
    • From announcement: "I set up an Institutional Registration for Rowan-Virtua SOM for the IAMSE Spring 2025 Webcast Seminar Series: Environmental Disasters Affecting Health Professions Education...Surviving the Storm and After. If you would like to attend any/all of these sessions, please register with your @rowan.edu email address."
      More Information | To register (Please use Registrant ID: 54892683 when completing the form)

TEACHING & LEARNING

Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.

***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.  I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc., and I’m happy to help as much as I can.
***

AI/GAI

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development

Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s)  

 LIBRARY UPDATE

Section description: This section will highlight important news or updates from the Rowan University Libraries or the Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library.

Welcome to our new and returning faculty; we at the library hope you have all enjoyed your short break from teaching.

As we look forward to the 25/26 AY, remember that our doors are always open and we are ready and happy to help with any of your information needs.

  • The latest version of EndNote—EndNote 2025—is now available
    • This powerful reference management tool helps streamline your research, organize citations, and format bibliographies with ease. Faculty  can access the new version through the university’s Software Downloads web page. Need help with EndNote, Consult the EndNote LibGuide or contact Kevin Block at the Hope Brings Strength Library, kblock@rowan.edu. 
  • Free Medical Books for the Taking!
    • The Hope Brings Strength Library is currently weeding older medical books from its print collection. In most cases, these are older editions of textbooks for which we already hold newer versions or have digital access through Rowan Libraries. These books are being given away and are available on a first-come, first-served basis. You’ll find them on carts near the library entrance. If you're looking for classic medical texts to decorate your office or keep on hand for reference, now’s your chance!
  • Free All-Access Subscription to The New York Times
    • All Rowan faculty have complimentary access to The New York Times, including news, games (like Wordle and Spelling Bee), NYT Cooking, Wirecutter product reviews, The Athletic, and NYT Audio. Activate your subscription at https://go.rowan.edu/nyt using your Rowan credentials. Already a subscriber? You can switch to the library’s subscription and save.
  • Audiobook Collection
    • Prefer to listen on the go?  Rowan University Libraries audiobook collection—powered by OverDrive and curated by Rowan librarians—features bestsellers, course-related titles, and classics. Access it at https://go.rowan.edu/audiobooks or through the Libby app.

Source: Mercedes Byrd, MS, PBL Education and Information Services Librarian, Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library

 COMMUNITY & BELONGING

Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOMOnline Modules (each about 20 minutes)

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

FACULTY WELLNESS

Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics

Rowan-Virtua SOM

  • Supporting Students in Distress: TimelyCare for Faculty and Staff
    • From announcement: "TimelyCare has a Faculty and Staff Support line available 24/7 for guidance and support when concerned about a student. Any faculty or staff member can call 833-4-TIMELY to talk to a TimelyCare professional about supporting your students’ well-being."

      Program Flyer (PDF)
      If you have questions about this or other wellness services at Rowan-Virtua SOM, please get in touch with the office of Student Programs & Engagement – 856-566-6795

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

OMM/OMT/OP/OR

Section description:  This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition. 

OMT Demonstration Videos

Articles from JOM

Educational Resources & Events

Sources:

  • Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM/STBES YouTube
  • Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
    • Alex King, DO, Associate Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
    • Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Professor & Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM

JOM Highlights

Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)

Medical Education

Clinical Image

Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)

NEW PUBLICATIONS BY FACULTY

Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography

Request via Interlibrary Loan

  • Lee Brooks, MD | Clinical Associate Professor (Volunteer) | Pediatrics
    • Brooks LJ. Home sleep testing in children: we probably can, but should we? Journal of Clinical Sleep Medicine. 2025 Jun 6. doi: 10.5664/jcsm.11792. PMID: 40476611. (Epub ahead of print)
      Request via Interlibrary Loan
      ​​​​​​
  • James Espinosa, MD | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Emergency Medicine
  • S. Vincent Grasso, DO, MSIS, MBA | Clinical Professor (Volunteer) | Medical Education and Scholarship
  • Daniel Hurst, PhD, ThM, MDiv, MSc | Interim Chair & Associate Professor, Medical Education & Scholarship | Director of Medical Professionalism, Ethics & Humanities
  • Richard Jermyn, DO, FAAPMR | Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine | Dean, Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine
    • Patel A, Patel D, DesRochers J, Noory A, Goodwin B, Shamilov DD, Lo DF, Jermyn R. Ankylosing spondylitis management: a narrative review of radiofrequency ablation and naproxen. Pain Management. 2025 Jun 11:1-8. doi: 10.1080/17581869.2025.2518046. PMID: 40500963. (Epub ahead of print)
      Request via Interlibrary Loan
       
  • David J. Libon, PhD | Professor | Geriatrics and Gerontology/NJISA
  • Alan Lucerna, DO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Emergency Medicine
  • Diana Martinez, PhD | Adjunct Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Cell Biology
  • Stephen Soloway MD | Clinical Professor (Volunteer) | Medicine
    • Weksel JK, Soloway S. Myophosphorylase deficiency. JCR: Journal of Clinical Rheumatology. 2025 Jan 1;31(1):e3. Epub 2024 Nov 11. doi: 10.1097/RHU.0000000000002164. PMID: 39527826.
      Request via Interlibrary Loan

Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library

UPCOMING EVENTS   (Please note that all events are subject to change)

***Add the Faculty Development Calendar to your Calendar
   Add the Faculty Development calendar to your Outlook or Google Calendar.

Link to Full Calendar

>>Contact Steve Garwood, EdD at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu