Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EndNote at Rowan University: Finding Full Text

Guide to Using EndNote for students, faculty, and staff at Rowan University

Finding Articles in an EndNote Library

EndNote can:

  • Search, Retrieve, and attach the corresponding article PDF to some EndNote references with a single click.
  • Search within Rowan Libraries’ Discovery system and display options to view or obtain the full-text of the article in your EndNote library.
  • Open a link directly to the full-text of the article or to the article’s database record

Limitations to EndNote’s Find Full-Text features:

  • The less bibliographic data in the reference the less likely the full-text can be retrieved or located using EndNote.
  • Not all publisher and journal websites and databases are compatible with EndNote and other citation managers.
  • Rowan Libraries’ Discovery service is not fully compatible with EndNote.
  • Rowan University's authentication service used to verify affiliation and allow access to subscribed journal content is not fully compatible with EndNote.

If EndNote is not able to locate the full-text of an article for a reference in you library that doesn't mean you can't get it.  It only means EndNote couldn't find it.  Check the libraries' E-Journal holdings to see the thousands of journals you have access to through Rowan University Libraries.    

Setting Full-Text Preferences

Go to  Edit > Preferences

Select preferences

Select Find Full Text in the left-hand column 

Check all the boxes listed set full-text search options     

In the OpenURL Path box enter Rowan University Libraries' open URL server address, https://openurl.rowan.edu/. Entering the address allows EndNote to search for articles in Rowan Libraries' Discovery service.     

Set full-text preferences  

Click Apply and OK.

Find Full-Text Feature

To search for the PDF or links (URL) to full-text articles in an EndNote library highlight a reference or group of references 

Hightlight references

Go to References > Find Full Text or use the Find Full Text icon.  

EndNote will search for either PDFs of the articles or links (URL) to the full-text or database record that will automatically be attached or inserted into the corresponding references  The progress and the results of the full-text search be viewed within EndNote in the left hand column. 

Searching for full-text progress

 

Search for the Article (OpenURL Link)

If a PDF or link isn’t found then you can also search Rowan’s Discovery service using the bibliographic data in your EndNote reference. 

Highlight the reference and go to References > URL > OpenURL Link to see if the article can be located within Rowan University Libraries’ Discovery service. 

Open URL Search in Discovery system

If the article is located within Rowan Libraries Discovery service the record will display and you will see the options to access the article full-text of the article online or to request it through Inter-Library loan. 

Discovery display of full-text option

Due to the limitations of EndNote’s Find Full-Text features and Rowan’s Discovery system it is possible that the article will not be located even with good bibliographic data in the reference. If that is the case it is best to look to see if the journal is subscribed to by Rowan Libraries using Journal Finder and retrieving the article through the publisher’s or provider’s website.    

Open a Link to the Article from Within Endnote (OpenURL)

If a reference in your EndNote library contains a link (URL) to an open access article, or to its full record in a database, such as Pubmed, highlight the reference and click the link in the reference or go to References > URL > OpenURL to open the link. 

Open article link

EndNote Help

Guide and videos tutorials from the creators of EndNote, Clarivate Analytics. 

Contact a Rowan Librarian specializing in EndNote

Complete References Needed

IMPORTANT Information about Finding Articles and EndNote

Using Endnote to locate an article depends on having good bibliographic data in your reference.  If your reference doesn’t have a DOI or other unique identifying number, or complete author names, article and journal titles, volume, issue, year, etc. the less likely the article can be located using EndNote’s Find Full-Text features. 

If EndNote’s Find-Full features fail to retrieve or locate the full-text of the article that doesn't mean the article is not available through Rowan. Search the Libraries' Journal Finder to see if the journal the article is published in is available through Rowan University Libraries.  If the article is not available through Rowan request the article through Inter-Library loan and your campus library will obtain a copy of the article for you.