Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences Library

Faculty Development - Rowan-Virtua SOM: 4/11/25 (Newsletter)

Resources for clinical and academic faculty

4/11/25 (Newsletter)

Rowan-Virtua SOM Header

April 2025

CONTENTS (Click to Jump to Section)

INTRODUCTION

As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. 

Be Safe.

Thank you, Steve

ANNOUNCEMENTS
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM Alumni Receptions at Spring Conferences
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM: Faculty Development Series - Dates & Topics (April-May)
    (All on Friday, 7am-8am, Webex)
    • 4/17 (Thursday) - AI, Generative AI and Medical Education
      Co-Coordinators of the Rowan-Virtua SOM AI Discussion Group:
      Steve Garwood, EdD, Director of Faculty Development
      James Martin II, PhD, Assistant Professor, Molecular Biology
    • 5/16 - Communicating Your Research: Identifying and Appraising Academic Publishers and Open Access Publishing
      Benjamin Saracco MLS, MAIT,  Scholarly Publishing & Open Research Librarian,  Associate Professor, Rowan University Libraries
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM Research Day
    Thursday, 5/1, 8am-2pm, Academic Center, Stratford Campus
    • From announcement: "The purpose of this event is to recognize the efforts of faculty, staff, interns/residents, fellows, and students involved in research, promote collaboration, and encourage student participation in research. You are invited to submit poster displays of research projects or related professional activity. Poster submissions from all campuses at Rowan University are welcome. 
      • Poster Registration - The deadline for poster submissions is Friday, April 25. All Rowan-affiliated registrants: please select "Log in with your Rowan University account." All others will need to create a new account. Be sure to click on "Submit" once you have completed the registration and uploaded your poster information. 
      • Attendee Registration - If you are attending Research Day and not displaying a poster or pre-recorded video, the deadline for submitting the form for attendance only is Wednesday, April 30, 2025.
        Please visit the Rowan-Virtua SOM Research Webpage for additional information.
  • Atlantic Regional Osteopathic Conference (AROC)
    4/23-26, Atlantic City
    • From announcement: "AROC 2025 is more than just another conference—it’s a career-boosting experience! This year, not only can you earn up to 37 AOA Category 1-A CME Credits and 37 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™, including Maintenance of Certification (MOC) from boards, such as the American Board of Anesthesiology, Internal Medicine, and Orthopedic Surgery, but you can also take your career to the next level. In addition to high-quality medical education on critical topics such as Women’s Health, Oncology, Diabetes Management, and Dermatology, we are offering career development workshops and exclusive on-site hiring opportunities."
      More information and to register
  • International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
    • Annual Conference 2025: Integrating Generations
      Registration now Open - 6/14-6/17, Calgary, Alberta, Canada
      • From announcement: "At the IAMSE Annual Conference, faculty, staff, and students from around the world who are interested in health science education join together in faculty development and networking opportunities. Sessions on curriculum development, assessment, and simulation are among the common topics available at the conference."
        More information and to register

TEACHING & LEARNING

Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.

***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.  I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc., and I’m happy to help as I’m able.
***

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development

Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s) 

 LIBRARY UPDATE

Section description: This section will highlight important news or updates from the Rowan University Libraries or the Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library.

With preparations underway for the new 2025/2026 academic year, please remember to update the library on required and recommended books for your courses and blocks.
Email Nicole Morfitt with any updates or questions: morfitt@rowan.edu.

Rowan University Libraries is excited to introduce our new audiobook collection, now available for the Rowan community!

Whether you’re on the move or simply prefer to listen to books, this collection offers a flexible new way to enjoy reading at Rowan.

Powered by OverDrive, our librarians have curated and will update the collection with popular titles, course readings, modern bestsellers, classic literature, and a wide range of topics.

Whether you’re commuting, walking between classes, or doing chores, you can take your reading experience with you.

You can access the audiobooks for free through our library at go.rowan.edu/audiobooks, or log in via the Libby app on your personal device to listen on the go.

Start exploring today to find the perfect audiobook for learning or fun.

We’re excited to offer this collection, designed to meet with diverse reading preference of the Rowan community – because everyone reads differently!

Source: Mercedes Byrd, MLIS, PBL Education and Information Services Librarian, Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library

 COMMUNITY & BELONGING

Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOM

  • 2025 Black Maternal Health Summit & Community Listening Session
    4/17, 6pm-8:30pm, Webex
    • From announcement: "I am beyond excited to announce that Medical Students for Birth Justice will continue the Black Maternal Health Summit in 2025! Mark your calendars for April 17th, the final day of Black Maternal Health Week, as we bring together another all-star lineup of keynote speakers and panelists for a night of powerful discussions and collective action. Last year, over 200 attendees joined us in sharing this experience, and we are eager to keep the momentum going."
      To register
  • Online Modules (each about 20 minutes)
    Developed by the Professional Learning Subcommittee of the Rowan-Virtua SOM Inclusive Excellence, Community, and Belonging Committee
  • Faculty Development

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

FACULTY WELLNESS

Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics

Rowan-Virtua SOM

  • Supporting Students in Distress: TimelyCare for Faculty and Staff
    • From announcement: "TimelyCare has a Faculty and Staff Support line available 24/7 for guidance and support when concerned about a student. Any faculty or staff member can call 833-4-TIMELY to talk to a TimelyCare professional about supporting your students’ well-being."

      Program Flyer (PDF)
      If you have questions about this or other wellness services at Rowan-Virtua SOM, please get in touch with Alexis Scott, in the office of Student Programs & Engagement – 856-566-6795

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

OMM/OMT/OP/OR

Section description:  This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition. 

OMT Demonstration Videos

Articles from JOM

Educational Resources & Events

Sources:

  • Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM/STBES YouTube
  • Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
    • Alex King, DO, Assistant Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
    • Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Professor & Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM

JOM Highlights

Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)

Medical Education

Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)

NEW PUBLICATIONS BY FACULTY

Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography

Request via Interlibrary Loan

Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Hope Brings Strength Health Sciences Library

UPCOMING EVENTS   (Please note that all events are subject to change)

***Add the Faculty Development Calendar to your Calendar
   Add the Faculty Development calendar to your Outlook or Google Calendar.

Link to Full Calendar

>>Contact Steve Garwood, EdD at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu