Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences Library

Faculty Development - Rowan-Virtua SOM: 11/10/23 (Newsletter)

Resources for clinical and academic faculty

11/10/23 (Newsletter)

Rowan-Virtua SOM Header

November 2023
(ARCHIVE)

CONTENTS (Click to Jump to Section)

INTRODUCTION


Please note in the Announcements section of this issue; I've included resources on a hot topic in Medical Education – Artificial Intelligence. 

As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. 

Be Safe.

Thank you, Steve

ANNOUNCEMENTS


AACOM's Competitive Grant Program
Due: 1/31/24

  • From announcement: "AACOM's Grants Program includes awards for medical education research and institutional research. Institutional research is a broad category of work done at colleges (and across colleges within a profession) to inform decision-making and planning. While collaborative, multi-institution research studies are desirable, the grant could support a pilot study or serve as the basis for seeking matching funds at individual institutions. Proposals pertaining to technology or artificial intelligence (AI) are of importance this year. Additionally, topics related to workforce issues—such as the implications of the expansion of osteopathic medical colleges, branch campuses, additional teaching sites, and class sizes—are of continued interest."
    More information and to submit

International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
2024 Educational Scholarship & Curriculum Innovation Grants
Deadline: 1/15/24

  • From announcement: "The International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) wishes to encourage and support scholarship in medical science education and will fund multiple educational scholarship and curriculum innovation grants for up to $5000 each. We are excited to announce that proposals for 2024 grants are now being accepted!"
    More information and to apply

International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
2024 Conference: Call for Poster & Oral Abstracts
Due: 12/1/23

  • From description: " The International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) is pleased to announce the call for abstracts for oral and poster presentations for the 28th Annual IAMSE Conference to be held at the Hilton Minneapolis Resort in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA from June 15-18, 2024."
    More information and to submit an abstract

Hot Topic - Artificial Intelligence and Medical Education

  • Faculty Development Guide – Generative AI and Medical Education
  • Articles/Websites/Podcast(s)/Video(s)
  • Upcoming Webinars
    • AAMC Scholarly Publishing Webinar Series
      • ChatGPT: Transforming Scholarly Pursuits with Conversational AI
        12/15, 1pm
        • From announcement: "This session will explore ChatGPT's impact on scholarship by discussing its historical significance, predictive power, and transformative potential. Attendees will learn how ChatGPT has reshaped scholarly pursuits, can aid researchers and learners, and may address future challenges."
          To register

TEACHING & LEARNING

Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.

***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.  I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc. and I’m happy to help as I’m able.
***

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development

Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s) 

DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION (DEI)

Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.

Rowan-Virtua SOM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Website

Rowan-Virtua SOM

  • Foundations of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Sessions for Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS/CMSRU 
    (September-December 2023; All sessions via Webex; Faculty and Staff only)
  • DEI-Rx – Bridging Gaps in Healthcare Conference
    11/18, 8am-5pm, Academic Center, Rowan-Virtua SOM Stratford Campus | 11/19, 8am-5pm, Virtual
    • From announcement: " Rowan-Virtua SOM's I.D.E.A. Council is excited to announce the inaugural DEI in Medicine Conference, DEI-Rx: Bridging Gaps in Healthcare! Join us on Saturday, November 18 (on the Stratford Campus) and Sunday, November 19 (virtually) as we discuss pressing issues and innovative solutions as it pertains to diversity, equity, and inclusion in medicine. We have a diverse array of speakers discussing a wide range of topics regarding approaches to healthcare for varying populations. Programming will run from 8:00 am - 5:00 pm on both days. Registration is required for this conference, including a registration fee of $5 for Rowan affiliates and $15 for non-Rowan affiliates."
      Registration. Once you complete the form, registration fee payments will be accepted via Venmo (@DEI-Rx). Please title your payment "DEI Conference."  
      Conference Schedule. 
      If you have any questions or concerns, please reach out to I.D.E.A Council via email at rowansomideacouncil@gmail.com
  • Faculty Development

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

FACULTY WELLNESS

Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics

Rowan-Virtua SOM

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

OMM/OMT/OP/OR

Section description:  This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition. 

OMT Demonstration Videos

Articles from JOM

Sources:

  • Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS YouTube
  • Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
    • Alex King, DO, Assistant Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
    • Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM

JOM Highlights

Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)

Medical Education

Clinical Image

Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)

NEW PUBLICATIONS BY FACULTY

Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography

  • Daniel Chandler, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology
    • Predale HK, Chandler DJ, Waterhouse BD. Norepinephrine in the cerebellum. In: Gruol DL, Koibuchi N, Manto M, Molinari M, Schmahmann JD, Shen Y, eds. Essentials of Cerebellum and Cerebellar Disorders: A Primer For Graduate Students. 2nd ed. Springer International; 2023:201-208. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-15070-8_31.
      Request via Interlibrary Loan
  • Gary Goldberg, PhD | Professor | Molecular Biology
    • Hellmig TJ, Brace EJ, Greenspan A, Laugier C, Aradhya A, Basu S, Parikj S, Jachimowska K, Wu X, Shen Y, Hamilton KL, Goldberg GS. Amur maackia (Maackia amurensis) seed lectin history and potential effect on cancer progression, inflammation and viral infection. In: Rajendram R, Preedy V, Patel V, eds. Ancient and Traditional Foods, Plants, Herbs and Spices used in Cancer. CRC Press; 2023:89 – 102. doi: 10.1201/9781003260028-9.
      Request via Interlibrary Loan
  • Daniel Hurst, PhD | Assistant Professor, Family Medicine | Director of Medical Professionalism, Ethics, and Humanities
    • Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD, eds. Xenotransplantation: Ethical, Regulatory, and Social Aspects. Springer International; 2023. ISBN (Print): 978-3031290701.
      View eBook
      • Hurst DJ. Xenotransplantation and informed consent. In: Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD, eds. Xenotransplantation: Ethical, Regulatory, and Social Aspects. Springer International; 2023:59-67. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-29071-8_6.  
      • Hurst DJ, Rodger D, Pizutelli VK, Danser V. Religious viewpoints: Protestant and Catholic In: Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD, eds. Xenotransplantation: Ethical, Regulatory, and Social Aspects. Springer International; 2023:151-162. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-29071-8.
      • Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD. Introduction. In: Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD, eds. Xenotransplantation: Ethical, Regulatory, and Social Aspects. Springer International; 2023:1-3. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-29071-8_1.
      • Padilla L, Maxwell K, Hurst DJ. Xenotransplantation and pediatric ethics issues. In: Hurst DJ, Padilla L, Paris WD, eds. Xenotransplantation: Ethical, Regulatory, and Social Aspects. Springer International; 2023:51-58. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-29071-8_5.
  • Daniel Manvich, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology and Neuroscience
  • Leonard Powell, DO, CMD| Associate Professor| Geriatrics and Gerontology
    • Cooney A, Vega L, Goodwin BJ, Adams J, Mangrola F, Price LM, Powell L. Combating modern DO stigmatization. International Journal of Osteopathic Medicine. 2023 Oct 10:100691. doi: 10.1016/j.ijosm.2023.100691. (Online ahead of print)
  • Barry Waterhouse, PhD | Professor/Chair | Cell Biology
    • Predale HK, Chandler DJ, Waterhouse BD. Norepinephrine in the cerebellum. In: Gruol DL, Koibuchi N, Manto M, Molinari M, Schmahmann JD, Shen Y, eds. Essentials of Cerebellum and Cerebellar Disorders: A Primer For Graduate Students. 2nd ed. Springer International; 2023:201-208. doi: 10.1007/978-3-031-15070-8_31.
      Request via Interlibrary Loan

Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library

UPCOMING EVENTS   (Please note that all events are subject to change)

***Add the Faculty Development Calendar to your Calendar
   Add the Faculty Development calendar to your Outlook or Google Calendar.
  

>>Contact Steve Garwood, EdD at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu