2/16/24 (Update)
|
Faculty Focus (Browser Version)
|
|
All Faculty Focus Newsletter and Update issues are available from the Faculty Focus Archive.
I thank all who help with content curation and those who have shared items with me for distribution.
Thank you, Steve
No reply necessary
FACULTY FOCUS UPDATE (2/16/24)
Archive | Calendar
Table of Contents: Announcements | Events | Teaching & Learning | Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
- Now Accepting Nominations! 2024 Leonard Tow Humanism Award (Paid and Volunteer Faculty)
Nominations Due: 5pm, 2/26- From announcement: "We are excited to extend to you the opportunity to nominate outstanding individuals for the esteemed Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards, presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation. These annual awards recognize exceptional contributions to humanism in medicine and scientific excellence within our community. We encourage you to nominate both fellow students and faculty members who embody the values of compassion, empathy, and excellence in medical practice. Award recipients will receive a certificate and a check for up to $500. Moreover, recipients will have the honor of becoming lifelong members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society."
More information and to nominate
- From announcement: "We are excited to extend to you the opportunity to nominate outstanding individuals for the esteemed Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards, presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation. These annual awards recognize exceptional contributions to humanism in medicine and scientific excellence within our community. We encourage you to nominate both fellow students and faculty members who embody the values of compassion, empathy, and excellence in medical practice. Award recipients will receive a certificate and a check for up to $500. Moreover, recipients will have the honor of becoming lifelong members of the Gold Humanism Honor Society."
- Run4Rowan5K 2024
- In 2021, 2022, and 2023, the RowanSOM Team won awards for the highest number of race registrants. In 2024, I hope we can keep that tradition going with the Rowan-Virtua SOM Team. As a runner and a first-generation student, I’m excited about the upcoming Run for Rowan 5k (onsite or virtual). I’ve created a Rowan-Virtua SOM Team on the registration website and hope you will join me. Please note that our team consists of runners, joggers, walkers, strollers, etc. - All are welcome.
More information | Join the Rowan-Virtua SOM Team
- In 2021, 2022, and 2023, the RowanSOM Team won awards for the highest number of race registrants. In 2024, I hope we can keep that tradition going with the Rowan-Virtua SOM Team. As a runner and a first-generation student, I’m excited about the upcoming Run for Rowan 5k (onsite or virtual). I’ve created a Rowan-Virtua SOM Team on the registration website and hope you will join me. Please note that our team consists of runners, joggers, walkers, strollers, etc. - All are welcome.
- Join Rowan University’s Day of Giving Kick-Off Event! 2/19/24
Shared on behalf of Rowan University’s Division of University Advancement- We are kicking off the Day of Giving early with in-person events on Monday, February 19. On this special day, your support and your dollars can do more! Thanks to our generous SOM leadership, SOM Alumni Board, and friends of SOM there are unique challenges where your gift could double—or even triple!—it's impact just for Rowan-Virtua SOM.
- DAY OF GIVING KICK-OFF CELEBRATION AT ROWAN-VIRTUA SOM - EVENTS AND ACTIVITIES
- Join us in person or virtually for fun activities, photo booths, raffle prizes, giveaways, coffee, snacks, and more as we celebrate the spirit of philanthropy throughout Rowan University’s campuses!
- IN-PERSON
Participate in activities on campus for chances to win swag and prizes!- Sewell Campus, First Floor Cafe | 10–11:30 a.m.
- Stratford Campus, Academic Center MPR | 11:30 a.m.–1:00 p.m.
- VIRTUAL
- Not able to join us in person? No problem! Check out the virtual activities below to participate.
- GIVE: Make your gift early!
- SIGN UP: Become a virtual ambassador and fundraise for a cause that matters to you!
- POST: Use our texting stickers and printables to help promote the Day of Giving!
Your gift—no matter the size—makes a difference! Visit dayofgiving.rowan.edu/SOM today and don't forget to check back on February 22 for an update on our progress
- IN-PERSON
- Rowan University President’s Award for Excellence in Innovative Instructional Delivery Nominations Due: 3/1/24
- From announcement: "The President’s Award for Excellence in Innovative Instructional Delivery is designed to recognize faculty who have gone above and beyond to adapt to an ever-changing classroom environment, or who have provided outstanding contributions to online learning via coursework, programs, or certificates. Each academic year, one $1000 award is given to an individual, and one $2000 award is given to a team." More information and to submit an application
- Save the Dates - Research Days
- Rowan University
3/27/24, 9am-2pm, Eynon Ballroom, Chamberlain Student Center, Glassboro Campus
More information TBD | Poster Session Registration (Deadline 2/23/24) - Rowan-Virtua SOM
TBD (First week of May), 8am-2pm, Multi-Purpose Room, Academic Center, Stratford Campus
More information TBD
- Rowan University
- American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)
- SOME Innovation in Medical Education Awards
Due: 2/29/24- From announcement: "The Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators (SOME) offers two $1,000 awards annually for innovations in osteopathic medical education. Applications are welcome from any SOME member from across the osteopathic medical education continuum. Following a peer review selection process, winners are nationally recognized with awards that are presented at Educating Leaders, the AACOM Annual Conference."
More information and to submit an application
- From announcement: "The Society of Osteopathic Medical Educators (SOME) offers two $1,000 awards annually for innovations in osteopathic medical education. Applications are welcome from any SOME member from across the osteopathic medical education continuum. Following a peer review selection process, winners are nationally recognized with awards that are presented at Educating Leaders, the AACOM Annual Conference."
- Educating Leaders Conference - Registration Now Available!
4/17-4/19- From announcement: "Attendees will experience three days of insightful plenary presentations, informative sessions and inspired programming focused on timely issues facing our nation’s healthcare and medical education systems."
More information and to register
- From announcement: "Attendees will experience three days of insightful plenary presentations, informative sessions and inspired programming focused on timely issues facing our nation’s healthcare and medical education systems."
- SOME Innovation in Medical Education Awards
- New Jersey Association of Osteopathic Physicians and Surgeons (NJAOPS)
- Atlantic Regional Osteopathic Conference 2024
4/10-4/13, Hard Rock, Atlantic City- From website: "We will be kicking off our third year at this exciting location, and we will be providing the most relevant education and resources for the successful clinician. Like last year, we are anticipating over 1,100 participants will be able to earn approximately 34 AOA Category 1-A CME Credits and 34 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits."
More information and to register
- From website: "We will be kicking off our third year at this exciting location, and we will be providing the most relevant education and resources for the successful clinician. Like last year, we are anticipating over 1,100 participants will be able to earn approximately 34 AOA Category 1-A CME Credits and 34 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits."
- Atlantic Regional Osteopathic Conference 2024
- International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
- Spring Webinar Series – Creating a Culture of Teaching and Learning
Register Now! (No charge for Institutional Registration)
3/7, 3/14, 3/21, 3/28, 4/4, 12pm-1pm
More details on each session | Registration - Empowering Educators IAMSE 2024 Annual Conference - Registration Now Available!
6/15-6/18- From announcement: "At the IAMSE Annual Conference, faculty, staff, and students from around the world who are interested in health science education join together in faculty development and networking opportunities. Sessions on curriculum development, assessment, and simulation are among the common topics available at the conference."
More information and to register
- From announcement: "At the IAMSE Annual Conference, faculty, staff, and students from around the world who are interested in health science education join together in faculty development and networking opportunities. Sessions on curriculum development, assessment, and simulation are among the common topics available at the conference."
- Mentoring (IM-REACH) Certificate Program ($700)
Applications due: 4/1- From announcement: "The IM-REACH certificate program provides an opportunity to enhance skills, gain experience, and engage in reflection and growth as a mentor and ultimately influence your relationship with your mentee. The goal of this program is to develop well-rounded, diverse health professional education mentors through targeted professional development in key aspects of mentorship, which includes both knowledge and skills."
More information and to apply
- From announcement: "The IM-REACH certificate program provides an opportunity to enhance skills, gain experience, and engage in reflection and growth as a mentor and ultimately influence your relationship with your mentee. The goal of this program is to develop well-rounded, diverse health professional education mentors through targeted professional development in key aspects of mentorship, which includes both knowledge and skills."
- Spring Webinar Series – Creating a Culture of Teaching and Learning
Teaching & Learning
Faculty Development Guides
International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
-
Spring Webinar Series – Creating a Culture of Teaching and Learning
Register Now! (No charge for Institutional Registration)
3/7, 3/14, 3/21, 3/28, 4/4, 12pm-1pm
More details on each session | Registration
LinkedIn Learning
- To access LinkedIn Learning, please use your Rowan University credentials. More information from Rowan IRT.
- Example courses:
- How to Change: Getting to Where You Want to Be (Book Bite) (15m 44s)
- Example courses:
TeachingPhysician (Each week, I’ll be sharing two articles from this resource)
(Please email garwoods@rowan.edu for access information)
- Video Library
- Topic Index: Professionalism
- Articles
Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s)/etc.
- FacultyFocus
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Rowan-Virtua SOM DEI Website
Faculty Development Guide: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)
Rowan University
- Black History Month
- Foundations of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Sessions
Spring Sessions Now Available!
More information and to register
Rowan-Virtua SOM/STBES
- Foundations of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Sessions for Virtua Health College
(January-May 2024; All sessions via Webex; Faculty and Staff only) Review session descriptions or register- Module 2
- Friday, 3/22, 2pm-4pm
- Module 3
- Friday, 4/26, 2pm-4pm
- Module 2
Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s)/etc.
- Black History Month Resources
- Faculty Focus
Issue Archive (2024)
Issue Archive (2023)
- 12/22/23 & 12/29/23 (Update)
- 12/15/23 (Update)
- 12/8/23 (Newsletter)
- 12/1/23 (Update)
- 11/24/23 (Update)
- 11/17/23 (Update)
- 11/10/23 (Newsletter)
- 11/3/23 (Update)
- 10/27/23 (Update)
- 10/20/23 (Update)
- 10/13/23 (Newsletter)
- 10/6/23 (Update)
- 9/29/23 (Update)
- 9/22/23 (Update)
- 9/15/23 (Update)
- 9/8/23 (Newsletter)
- 9/1/23 (Update)
- 8/25/23 (Update)
- 8/18/23 (Update)
- 8/11/23 (Newsletter)
- 8/4/23 (Update)
- 7/28/23 (Update)
- 7/21/23 (Update)
- 7/14/23 (Newsletter)
- 7/7/23 (Update)