Skip to Main Content
Health Sciences Library

Faculty Development - Rowan-Virtua SOM: 8/11/23 (Newsletter)

Resources for clinical and academic faculty

8/11/23 (Newsletter)

Faculty Focus (Browser Version)

QR code for Faculty Focus Browser Version

Faculty Development Guides

QR code for Faculty Development Guides
Rowan-Virtua SOM Header

August 2023
(ARCHIVE)

CONTENTS (Click to Jump to Section)

INTRODUCTION

Please note in the Announcements section of this issue; I've included resources on a hot topic in Medical Education – Artificial Intelligence. 

As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. 

Be Safe.

Thank you, Steve

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Hot Topic - Artificial Intelligence and Medical Education

Open Access Fund
Shared on behalf of the Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library

  • From announcement: "With the beginning of the new academic year, the Health Sciences Library wants to remind tenured and tenure-track faculty members that financial support is available for those who plan to publish in an open access journal. The Open Access Fund can help offset APC costs of up to $3000 per author per year."
    Find detailed requirements and information on how to apply on the Health Sciences Library FAQ site

AAMC Scholarly Publishing Webinar Series

  • From Description: "Improve your writing and learn how to successfully navigate the peer-review and publication processes with this free monthly webinar series hosted by the editorial teams of Academic Medicine and MedEdPORTAL. Sessions will cover the importance of publishing your education scholarship and practical suggestions for how to do so successfully. Sessions will include interactive exercises to practice what you have learned and time for Q&A with the featured speakers.
    More information, session recordings, and to register for upcoming sessions

IAMSE 2024 Conference: Call for Focus Session Abstracts
Due: 9/1/23

  • From description: "IAMSE is currently accepting focus session abstracts for the 28th Annual IAMSE Conference to be held at the Hilton Minneapolis Resort in Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA June 15-18, 2024. The purpose of a 90-minute Focus Session is to "focus in" on a specific topic in a small group interactive discussion format."
    More information and to submit an abstract

Registration Now Available:

  • AMA ChangeMedEd 2023
    9/27-29
    • From announcement: "This September, join the American Medical Association at ChangeMedEd® 2023, a national conference that brings together innovators and influencers from across the medical education continuum and related healthcare fields to share bold ideas, learn about cutting-edge innovations in medical education and hear proven approaches for changing the way future physicians are trained."
      More information and to register
  • MedBiquitous 2023
    10/17-18
    • From announcement: "MedBiquitous 2023 will bring together a diverse community of data enthusiasts, healthcare professionals, educators, researchers, and technology experts from across the health professions, who are passionate about leveraging data to revolutionize healthcare delivery and improve outcomes. This year's event promises to be an unparalleled opportunity for learning, networking, and collaboration"
      More information and to register
  • IAMSE Virtua Forum – Should It Stay or Should It Go? Changing Health Education for Changing Times
    10/18-20
    • From announcement: "Join us for the 2023 IAMSE Virtual Forum where we will discuss what works and what does not serve educators and students alike when it comes to curriculum reform - what should stay and what should go. Topics will cover how curriculum reform impacts students, curriculum, and teaching as well as Artificial Intelligence in Health Sciences Education."
      More information and to register
  • Learn, Serve, Lead 2023: The AAMC Annual Meeting
    11/3-7
    • From announcement: "If you're eager to add your voice to forward-thinking conversations that will shape health and health care, reserve your place at Learn Serve Lead today! Together, we'll consider solutions for the biggest challenges facing medical schools, teaching hospitals, health systems, and the communities they serve."
      More information and to register

TEACHING & LEARNING

Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.

***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.  I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc. and I’m happy to help as I’m able.
***

Rowan University

Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development

Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s) 

DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION (DEI)

Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.

Rowan-Virtua SOM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Website

Rowan-Virtua SOM

  • Foundations of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Sessions for Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS/CMSRU 
    (September-December 2023)
    • Planning for the Fall dates for the Foundations of DEI Certificate is underway. As we no longer have our primary facilitator, Yvonne, I'm working with the Division of DEI to schedule Fall sessions. Since we'll need to have fewer sessions due to resource constraints, we'll focus on Modules 1 and 2 for the Fall 2023 term. The University Division of DEI will be offering sessions for each Module.
  • Faculty Development

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

FACULTY WELLNESS

Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics

Rowan-Virtua SOM

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

OMM/OMT/OP/OR

Section description:  This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition. 

OMT Demonstration Videos

Articles from JOM

Sources:

  • Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS YouTube
  • Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
    • Alex King, DO, Assistant Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
    • Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM

JOM Highlights

Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)

General

Medical Education

Clinical Image

Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)

NEW PUBLICATIONS BY FACULTY

Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography

Martin R, Lau HA, Morrison R, Bhargava P, Deiling K. The rising tide of point-of-care ultrasound (POCUS) in medical education: an essential skillset for undergraduate and graduate medical education. Current Problems in Diagnostic Radiology. 2023 Jul 1;S0363-0188(23)00089-0. doi: 10.1067/j.cpradiol.2023.06.003. PMID: 37479620. (Online ahead of print)

  • James A. Espinosa, MD | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Emergency Medicine
    Morris M, Espinosa J, Lucerna A, Lahr R. A case of phenibut withdrawal and treatment with baclofen. World Journal of Emergency Medicine. 2023;14(4):338-340. doi: 10.5847/wjem.j.1920-8642.2023.059. PMID: 37425087 PMCID: PMC10323501
     
  • Amerigo Falciani, DO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Radiology
    Halpern SA, Patrizio HA, Brace EJ, Wang S, Yuh JY, Patel DV, Morrison RG, Hall AJ, Falciani A, Deiling KA, Brolis NV. Anatomical considerations for gallbladder sonography: a cross-sectional study of CT imaging by BMI group. Cureus. 2023 Jun 17;15(6):e40557. eCollection 2023 Jun. doi: 10.7759/cureus.40557. PMID: 37465802. PMCID: PMC10351329
     
  • Deanna Janora, MD | Associate Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine | Director of Problem-Based Learning
    Goodwin B, Chiplunkar M, Salerno R, Coombs K, Sannoh U, Shah V, Averell N, Al-Shebab U, Janora D. Topical capsaicin for the management of painful diabetic neuropathy: a narrative systematic review. Pain Management. 2023 Jul 12. doi: 10.2217/pmt-2023-0006. PMID: 37435696. (Online ahead of print)
    Request via Interlibrary Loan
     
  • Anne C. Jones, DO, MPH | Assistant Professor, Family Medicine | Director of Student Affairs, RVSOM-Sewell campus
    Jones AC. Racial trauma and the physician craft: from understanding to humility [Essay]. Family Medicine. 2023 May 31;55(7):487-488. doi: 10.22454/FamMed.2023.802770. PMID: 37450942.

Jones AC, Lilienthal KR. Integrating behavioral health and primary care: turning a duet into a trio. Annals of Family Medicine. 2023 Mar-Apr;21(2):185-187. doi: 10.1370/afm.2951. PMID: 36973062. PMCID: PMC10042554.

Bandyopadhyay S, Wittmayer J, Libon DJ, Tighe P, Price C, Rashidi P. Explainable semi-supervised deep learning shows that dementia is associated with small, avocado-shaped clocks with irregularly placed hands. Scientific Reports. 2023 May 6;13(1):7384. doi: 10.1038/s41598-023-34518-9. PMID: 37149670. PMCID: PMC10164161.

Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library

UPCOMING EVENTS   (Please note that all events are subject to change)

***Add the Faculty Development Calendar to your Calendar
   Add the Faculty Development calendar to your Outlook or Google Calendar.
  

>>Contact Steve Garwood, EdD at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu