 |
December 2023
(ARCHIVE)
|
CONTENTS (Click to Jump to Section)
|
INTRODUCTION
|
|
|
As I’ll be out of the office on 12/8, I’m sending this a day early. To all who celebrate I hope you have a happy and safe Hanukkah.
Please note in the Announcements section of this issue; I've included resources on a hot topic in Medical Education – Artificial Intelligence.
As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.
Be Safe.
Thank you, Steve
|
ANNOUNCEMENTS
|
|
Happy Hanukkah (Chanukah)
Evening of 12/7 – Evening of 12/15
Dialogue with the Dean Vodcast – New Episode
SOM Library Closure for Door Installation Next Week
Posted on behalf of the Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library
- From announcement: "A new door is scheduled to be installed at the entrance to the Health Sciences Library next week and necessitates the closing of the physical library during this time. The physical library in Stratford will be closed Tuesday, December 12 through Thursday, December, 14, and reopen on Friday, December 15 at 8am. Students needing a place to study during the closure are being directed to use the Sewell Learning Commons which is available 24/7 to all Rowan-Virtua SOM students and the Rowan Campbell Library on the Glassboro Campus.The physical Health Sciences Library may be closed but our online collections and resources are available 24/7 through the library's website. Library staff will be working remotely during this time and available through email, chat and WebEx for consults, literature search requests, and assistance with online library resources, such as databases, E-books, and E-Journals. The new door will open and close automatically at approach and better comply with accessibility laws. Additionally, it will eliminate noise from the old door's frequent opening and closing."
Contact Kevin Block, the Interim Director of the Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library with any questions
JINGLE ALL THE WAY TO OUR FINANCIAL WELLNESS WINTER WONDERLAND!
Posted on behalf of the Rowan-Virtua SOM Financial Aid Office
Date: Wednesday, December 13
Time: 12:00 PM to 2:00 PM
Location: 113 E. Laurel Road, Stratford Campus – Student Financial Aid Office
- Event Highlights:
- Holiday Cookie Decorating: Channel your inner pastry Picasso and decorate your own scrumptious holiday cookies. Extra sprinkles, anyone?
- Gingerbread House Decorating: Let's build an epic gingerbread masterpiece!
- Hot Chocolate Bar: Warm your soul with our DIY hot chocolate bar. Marshmallows, whipped cream, and all the cozy vibes.
- Spread the Love:
- Food Drive: 'Tis the season of giving! Bring a non-perishable food item to donate to The SHOP Food Pantry and spread joy!
- Why Attend?
- Network: Connect with fellow students, faculty, and staff in a festive and relaxed setting.
- Fun & Relaxation: Take a break from the books and enjoy the holiday spirit with fun activities.
- Join us for an afternoon of festive fun & community spirit! Let's sleigh this winter season together!
RSVP Today and Let's Sleigh It Together – Email blanton@rowan.edu
American Osteopathic Association (AOA)
- 2023 AOA Research Abstracts and Student Poster Competition
- Call for Research Applications
Due: 1/31/24
- From announcement: "The AOA is pleased to announce that the 2024 research grant application cycle is now open. Research funding is available to DO, MD, and PhD researchers conducting studies that address one of four Request for Applications (RFAs) in three overall areas of foci approved by the AOA Board of Trustees. The AOA will support the development of research projects grounded in osteopathic medicine that have the most promising potential to impact individual patient outcomes and evidence-based medicine, facilitate collaboration within and outside the osteopathic community, and enhance the visibility of the osteopathic profession."
More information and to submit
American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM)
- AACOM's Competitive Grant Program
- Due: 1/31/24
- From announcement: "AACOM's Grants Program includes awards for medical education research and institutional research. Institutional research is a broad category of work done at colleges (and across colleges within a profession) to inform decision-making and planning. While collaborative, multi-institution research studies are desirable, the grant could support a pilot study or serve as the basis for seeking matching funds at individual institutions. Proposals pertaining to technology or artificial intelligence (AI) are of importance this year. Additionally, topics related to workforce issues—such as the implications of the expansion of osteopathic medical colleges, branch campuses, additional teaching sites, and class sizes—are of continued interest."
More information and to submit
International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE)
- IAMSE 2024 Educational Scholarship & Curriculum Innovation Grants
Deadline: 1/15/24
- From announcement: "The International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) wishes to encourage and support scholarship in medical science education and will fund multiple educational scholarship and curriculum innovation grants for up to $5000 each. We are excited to announce that proposals for 2024 grants are now being accepted!"
More information and to apply
- IAMSE Winter Webinar Series – On World, One Health (Tackling the Global Health Crisis)
Register Now!
1/4, 1/11, 1/18, 1/25, 2/1, 12pm-1pm
More details on each session | Registration
Hot Topic - Artificial Intelligence and Medical Education
- Faculty Development Guide – Generative AI and Medical Education
- Articles/Websites/Podcast(s)/Video(s)
- Upcoming Webinars
- AAMC Scholarly Publishing Webinar Series
- ChatGPT: Transforming Scholarly Pursuits with Conversational AI
12/15, 1pm
- From announcement: "This session will explore ChatGPT's impact on scholarship by discussing its historical significance, predictive power, and transformative potential. Attendees will learn how ChatGPT has reshaped scholarly pursuits, can aid researchers and learners, and may address future challenges."
To register
- Rowan-Virtua SOM
- AI and Medical Education Discussion
12/19, 12pm-1pm
- Description: “No agenda. This is a virtual meet-up/follow-up to our August meeting to discuss AI & Med Ed. I know some of you are doing exciting things, so I'm eager to hear what you're working on."
Webex
|
TEACHING & LEARNING
|
|
Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.
***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc. and I’m happy to help as I’m able.
***
Rowan University
Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development
- TeachingPhysician (Available via Rowan-Virtua SOM GME and Faculty Development offices)
(Please email garwoods@rowan.edu for access information)
Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s)
- Academic Medicine
- Klasen, J. M., Germann, N., Lutz, S., Beck, J., & Fourie, L. (2023). Breaking the Silence: A Workshop for Medical Students on Dealing With Failure in Medicine. Academic Medicine, 10-1097
|
DIVERSITY, EQUITY, AND INCLUSION (DEI)
|
|
Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.
Rowan-Virtua SOM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Website
Rowan University
Rowan-Virtua SOM
- Addressing Microaggressions Online Module
- From announcement: "The Addressing Microaggressions Module was established at Rowan-Virtua SOM to address feedback that we've received from the Foundations of DEI Certificate sessions hosted at Rowan-Virtua SOM - Individuals can recognize microaggressions when they happen. Still, they do not necessarily have the tools to address them. Additionally, when reviewing the literature of the biomedical sciences, medical education, and medical and biomedical practice, the existence and impact of microaggressions are often cited as a challenge facing both educational and professional settings."
Addressing Microaggressions – Online Module & Resources
- Faculty Development
Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts
- Academic Medicine
- Baecher-Lind, L., Sutton, J. M., Bhargava, R., Chen, K. T., Fleming, A., Morgan, H. K., ... & Sims, S. M. (2023). Strategies to Create a More Gender Identity Inclusive Learning Environment in Preclinical and Clinical Medical Education. Academic Medicine, 10-1097
- Butts, G. C., Abner, P., Hess, L., Palermo, A. G. S., Cotilletta, B., Gianelli, A., & Richardson, L. D. (2023). Designing a road map for action to address bias and racism within a large academic medical center. Academic medicine, 10-1097
|
FACULTY WELLNESS
|
|
Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics
Rowan-Virtua SOM
Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts
|
OMM/OMT/OP/OR
|
|
Section description: This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition.
OMT Demonstration Videos
Articles from JOM
Sources:
- Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
- Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS YouTube
- Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
- Alex King, DO, Assistant Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
- Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
|
JOM Highlights
|
|
Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)
Medical Education
Clinical Image
Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)
|
NEW PUBLICATIONS BY FACULTY
|
|
Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
- Danielle Arigo, PhD | Adjunct Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Family Medicine
- Howard Chang, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology
- Martin Finkel | Emeritus Professor | Pediatrics
- Daniel Hurst, PhD | Assistant Professor, Family Medicine | Director of Medical Professionalism, Ethics, and Humanities
- Schiff T, Hurst DJ, Padilla LA, Rosas LE. Developing regulatory and operational oversight structures for clinical xenotransplantation [Poster Abstract A17]. American Journal of Transplantation. 2023 Jun;23(6, Suppl 1):S620 . doi :10.1016/j.ajt.2023.05.014
- Hurst DJ, Padilla L. Ethically advancing pediatric cardiac xenotransplant. JAMA Pediatrics. 2023 Nov 13. doi: 10.1001/jamapediatrics.2023.4681. PMID: 37955921. (Online ahead of print)
- Bobier C, Rodger D, Hurst DJ. Xenotransplantation and lifelong monitoring [Letter to the Editor]. American Journal of Transplantation. 2023 Nov 21:S1600-6135(23)00871-7. doi: 10.1016/j.ajt.2023.11.010. PMID: 37995839. (Online ahead of print)
- Richard Jermyn, DO, FAAPMR | Professor, Rehabilitation Medicine | Interim Dean, Rowan-Virtua School of Osteopathic Medicine
- Katharine Milani, PhD | Assistant Professor | Molecular Biology
- Brian P. Weiser, PhD | Assistant Professor | Molecular Biology
Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library
|
UPCOMING EVENTS (Please note that all events are subject to change)
***Add the Faculty Development Calendar to your Calendar
Add the Faculty Development calendar to your Outlook or Google Calendar.
|
|
>>Contact Steve Garwood, EdD at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu
|