Faculty Development - Rowan-Virtua SOM: 7/14/23 (Newsletter)

Faculty Focus (Browser Version)

Faculty Development Guides

Please note in the Announcements section of this issue; I've included resources on a hot topic in Medical Education – Artificial Intelligence. In the DEI section, there are multiple resources on the recent Supreme Court decision on affirmative action.

As always, I hope you find this publication to be helpful and informative. If you ever have questions or ideas regarding the content of the Faculty Focus Newsletter, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu. 

Be Safe.

Thank you, Steve

Hot Topic - Artificial Intelligence and Medical Education

• Rowan University
  • Statement on Generative AI
• Faculty Focus
  • Teaching and Thinking with Technology
• Articles
  • Shoja M M, Van de Ridder J, Rajput V (2023) The Emerging Role of Generative Artificial Intelligence in Medical Education, Research, and Practice. Cureus 15(6).
  • Wartman, S. A., & Combs, C. D. (2018). Medical education must move from the information age to the age of artificial intelligence. Academic Medicine, 93(8), 1107-1109
• Upcoming Webinars
  • IAMSE Web Seminar Series: Brains, Bots, and Beyond - Exploring AI's Impact on Medical Education.
    Series begins on 9/7. Sessions from 12pm-1pm ET on Thursday afternoons.
    (Our Institutional registration will be available soon)

IAMSE 2023 Virtual Forum Lightning Talk Abstracts
Deadline: 7/15; Virtual Forum: 10/18-20

• From announcement: "The International Association of Medical Science Educators (IAMSE) is pleased to announce the call for abstracts for Lightning Talk presentations for the second IAMSE Virtual Forum to be held October 18-20, 2023. The IAMSE Virtual Forum is an entirely virtual synchronous event offering opportunities for faculty and student development and networking, bringing together medical sciences and medical education across the continuum of healthcare education."
  More information and to submit an abstract

Registration Now Available: AMA ChangeMedEd 2023
9/27-29

• From announcement: "This September, join the American Medical Association at ChangeMedEd® 2023, a national conference that brings together innovators and influencers from across the medical education continuum and related healthcare fields to share bold ideas, learn about cutting-edge innovations in medical education and hear proven approaches for changing the way future physicians are trained."
  More information and to register

Registration Now Available: Learn, Serve, Lead 2023: The AAMC Annual Meeting
11/3-7

• From announcement: "If you're eager to add your voice to forward-thinking conversations that will shape health and health care, reserve your place at Learn Serve Lead today! Together, we'll consider solutions for the biggest challenges facing medical schools, teaching hospitals, health systems, and the communities they serve."
  More information and to register

Section description: Highlight of instructional strategies that can be incorporated to increase engagement and learning.

***
If you need assistance with delivering instruction via synchronous or asynchronous approaches, please contact me at 856-566-7177 or garwoods@rowan.edu.  I’ve been working with faculty on the use of Webex for live sessions, Echo360 for recording lectures or short presentations, formulating online discussion questions, etc. and I’m happy to help as I’m able.
***

Rowan University

• LinkedIn Learning
  • To access LinkedIn Learning, please use your Rowan University credentials. More information from Rowan IRT.
    • Example courses:
      • How to Research and Write Using Generative AI Tools (1h 15m)

Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development

• TeachingPhysician (Available via Rowan-Virtua SOM GME and Faculty Development offices)
  (Please email garwoods@rowan.edu for access information)
  • TeachingPhysician – Video Library
  • Topic Index: Preparation
  • Articles
    • The Skill of Teaching
    • Reflect on Teaching Effectiveness

Article(s)/Book(s)/Website(s)/Podcast(s) 

• Academic Medicine (Last Page)
  • Coe, C. L., Li, W., Jordan, K. A., & Lam, Y. (2022). Integrating Learners into Telemedicine Encounters. Academic Medicine, 10-1097

Section description: Articles, websites, etc. on the topic of cultural competency, engagement, and other related topics.

Rowan-Virtua SOM Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Website

United States Supreme Court and Affirmative Action

• Webinars
  • AACOM
    • Supreme Court Decision on Race in Admissions: What's Next?
      7/28, 4pm-5pm
      To register
• AMA
  • ChangeMedEd
    • Equity, diversity and belonging in medical education
    • Recognizing diversity’s benefits in classrooms—and exam rooms
    • SCOTUS affirmative action ruling “undermines the health of our nation”
    • Affirmative Action in Med Ed: Exploring the Consequences of an Adverse Supreme Court Decision (View and earn CME credit

Rowan-Virtua SOM

• DEI Newsletter
  • June/July 2023 Edition
• Foundations of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Sessions for Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS/CMSRU 
  (May-August 2023)
  • Module 3: Systems of Power*
    • Wednesday, 7/19, 1pm-3p
  • Module 4: Resistance and Allyship
    • Tuesday, 7/25, 5pm-7pm
      *Separate sessions for PBL and CBL Faculty which address Module 3 will take place over the summer
      Review session descriptions or register
• Faculty Development
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM DEI: Continual Learning Resources
  • Rowan-Virtua SOM Faculty Development: Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI)

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

• Academic Medicine
  • Engel-Rebitzer, E., Kogan, J. R., & Heath, J. K. (2023). Gender-Based Differences in Language Used by Students to Describe Their Noteworthy Characteristics in Medical Student Performance Evaluations. Academic Medicine, 10-1097
• Webinars
  • AAMC
    • Culturally-Responsive Support for Medical Student Mental Health

Section description: Articles, websites, etc., on the topic of faculty wellness, engagement, and other related topics

Rowan-Virtua SOM

• Weekly Wellness Resources
• From Rowan-Virtua SOM Student Affairs, curated by Brittany Mitchell
  • Select Resources:
    • Forbes
      • The Art Of Taking Criticism: 5 Tips For Professional Growth
    • Healthline
      • 6 Ways Your Body Benefits from Lemon Water

Articles/Websites/Blogs/Podcasts

• Harvard Business Review
  • Find the Coaching in Criticism

Section description:  This section will provide information and resources on Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Osteopathic Manipulative Techniques, Osteopathic Philosophy, and Osteopathic Recognition. 

OMT Demonstration Videos

• Open Thoracic Inlet (1:30)
• Facial Effleurage and Petrissage (1:17)

Articles from JOM

• Jacob, B., Sawhney, M., Sridhar, A., Jacob, B., Muller, J., Abu-Sbaih, R. & Yao, S. (2023). Potential therapeutic effects of adjunct osteopathic manipulative treatments in SARS-CoV-2 patients. Journal of Osteopathic Medicine, 123(7), 343-349.

Sources:

• Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM)
• Rowan-Virtua SOM/GSBS YouTube
• Curation and editorial assistance provided by:
  • Alex King, DO, Assistant Professor, Department Of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM
  • Danielle Cooley, DO, FACOFP, Chair of Osteopathic Manipulative Medicine, Rowan-Virtua SOM

Section description: This section will highlight one item from the following sections of the Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM): Medical Education, Musculoskeletal Medicine and Pain, and Clinical Images. (JOM articles on NMM/OMT can be found in the OMM/OMT/OP/OR section)

Medical Education

• Slattengren, A., Wootten, M., Carlin, C. & Nissly, T. (2023). Osteopathic manipulative treatment for the allopathic resident elective: does it change practice after graduation? Journal of Osteopathic Medicine, 123(7), 337-341

Behavioral Health

• Pargeon, Mackenzie and Tjiattas-Saleski, Lindsay. "Haglund deformity of the posterior heel." Journal of Osteopathic Medicine, vol. 123, no. 7, 2023, pp. 365-366

Source: Journal of Osteopathic Medicine (JOM; formerly Journal of the American Osteopathic Association (JAOA)

Section description: Bibliographic citations to new publications written by faculty members at Rowan-Virtua SOM. For full Faculty Bibliography please see: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography

• John Bertagnolli, DO | Professor (Retired 4/23) | Geriatrics and Gerontology
  Collins PB, Dinzeo T, Sepede JC, Bertagnolli JF, White C. Empathy and the medical student house call: the effect of clinical settings on empathy in third year medical students [first published as "Article domain category: medical education"]. Journal of Medical Education and Curricular Development. 2023 May 15;10:23821205231175804. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec
   
• Lisa Bodenheimer, LCSW | Instructor | Geriatrics and Gerontology
  Overbeck K, Bodenheimer L, White C, Toplyn L, Chiu C. Exhuming an ultra rapid cognitive screen: a case study with The Sweet 16 [Poster C33]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S194.
   
• Tracy Brobyn, DO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Family Medicine
  Cafaro T, LaRiccia PJ, Bandomer B, Goldstein H, Brobyn TL, et al. Remote and semi-automated methods to conduct a decentralized randomized clinical trial. Journal of Clinical and Translational Science. 2023 Jun 7. (Online ahead of print)
   
• Daniel Chandler, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology
  Corbett CM, Miller END, Wannen EE, Rood BD, Chandler DJ, Loweth JA. Cocaine exposure increases excitatory synaptic transmission and intrinsic excitability in the basolateral amygdala in male and female rats and across the estrous cycle. Neuroendocrinology. 2023 June 2. (Online ahead of print)
  Request via Interlibrary Loan
  
  Reyes AAA, Chandler DJ. Convergence of pro-stress and pro-inflammatory signaling in the central noradrenergic system: implications for mood and anxiety disorders. Neuroglia. 2023 April 29;4(2):87-101.
   
• Philip Collins, DO | Associate Professor | Family Medicine
  Collins PB, Dinzeo T, Sepede JC, Bertagnolli JF, White C. Empathy and the medical student house call: the effect of clinical settings on empathy in third year medical students [first published as "Article domain category: medical education"]. Journal of Medical Education and Curricular Development. 2023 May 15;10:23821205231175804. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec.
   
• Thomas Dinzeo, PhD | Adjunct Associate Professor (Volunteer) | Psychiatry
  Collins PB, Dinzeo T, Sepede JC, Bertagnolli JF, White C. Empathy and the medical student house call: the effect of clinical settings on empathy in third year medical students [first published as "Article domain category: medical education"]. Journal of Medical Education and Curricular Development. 2023 May 15;10:23821205231175804. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec
   
• Martin Forsberg, MD | Associate Professor | Geriatrics and Gerontology/Psychiatry
  Richardson C, Yuh J, Su J, Forsberg M. Case series: Continued remission of PTSD symptoms after discontinuation of prazosin. Frontiers in Psychiatry. 2023 Apr 21;14:1172754.
   
• Gary Goldberg, PhD | Professor | Molecular Biology
  Hamilton KL, Kuo YC, Horneffer P, Stein TP, Goldberg GS. Video didactic preparation augments problem-based learning for first year medical students. Journal of Medical Education & Curricular Development. 2023 May 29;10:23821205231177862. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec.
   
• Jessica Loweth, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology
  Corbett CM, Miller END, Wannen EE, Rood BD, Chandler DJ, Loweth JA. Cocaine exposure increases excitatory synaptic transmission and intrinsic excitability in the basolateral amygdala in male and female rats and across the estrous cycle. Neuroendocrinology. 2023 June 2. (Online ahead of print)
  Request via Interlibrary Loan
   
• Sean McMillan, DO, FAOAO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Orthopedic Surgery
  McMillan S, Zangrilli J, Amedee A, Dasa V. Safety of cryoneurolysis as a preoperative treatment for total knee arthroplasty (TKA). Surgical Technology International. 2023 Jun 14;42:sti42/1694
  Request via Interlibrary Loan
   
• Alison Mancuso, DO, FACOFP | Associate Professor | Family Medicine
  Richmond C, Powell L, Brittingham ZD, Mancuso A. Kearns-Sayre syndrome: two case reports and a review for the primary care physician. Journal of Family Medicine & Primary Care. 2023 Apr;12(4):792-795. doi: 10.4103/jfmpc.jfmpc_1790_22. Epub 2023 Apr 17.
   
• Michael McCormack, PhD | Professor | Pathology
  Huyghebaert J, Mateiu LM, Elinck E, Van Rossem K, D’Incal C, McCormack MK, et al. Identification of a causal mutation in DLG3 in the MRX20 family [Poster P09.048.D]. European Journal of Human Genetics. 2023 May 1;31(S1):464.
   
• Kevin Overbeck, DO, FACOG | Professor/Chair, Geriatrics and Gerontology | Director, New Jersey Institute for Successful Aging (NJISA)
  Cheesman AG, Overbeck K. Diagnostic clues in the fridge: a case study of gastroenteritis [Poster B8]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S93.
  
  Overbeck K, Bodenheimer L, White C, Toplyn L, Chiu C. Exhuming an ultra rapid cognitive screen: a case study with The Sweet 16 [Poster C33]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S194.
   
• Elyse Perweiler, MA, MPP, RN | Professor | Geriatrics and Gerontology
  DeGennaro J, Perweiler E, Avallone M, Pomerantz S, et al. An incremental journey: tracking resident outcomes using a 4Ms framework in affordable housing [Poster A169]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S73.
   
• Sheryl C. Pomerantz, PhD | Adjunct Associate Professor | Geriatrics and Gerontology
  DeGennaro J, Perweiler E, Avallone M, Pomerantz S, et al. An incremental journey: tracking resident outcomes using a 4Ms framework in affordable housing [Poster A169]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S73.
   
• Leonard Powell, DO, FACOFP | Associate Professor | Geriatrics and Gerontology
  Richmond C, Powell L, Brittingham ZD, Mancuso A. Kearns-Sayre syndrome: two case reports and a review for the primary care physician. Journal of Family Medicine & Primary Care. 2023 Apr;12(4):792-795. doi: 10.4103/jfmpc.jfmpc_1790_22. Epub 2023 Apr 17.
   
• Benjamin Rood, PhD | Assistant Professor | Cell Biology
  Corbett CM, Miller END, Wannen EE, Rood BD, Chandler DJ, Loweth JA. Cocaine exposure increases excitatory synaptic transmission and intrinsic excitability in the basolateral amygdala in male and female rats and across the estrous cycle. Neuroendocrinology. 2023 June 2. (Online ahead of print)
  Request via Interlibrary Loan
   
• Todd Schachter, DO, FAOCP | Assistant Professor, Family Medicine | Director of Employee and Student Health
  Patrizio HA, Phyu R, Boyle T, Schachter T. The effectiveness of disinfection protocols in medical school osteopathic manipulative medicine labs. Journal of Osteopathic Medicine. 2023 Jun 14. (Online ahead of print)
   
• Jennifer Sepede, DO | Assistant Professor | Family Medicine
  Collins PB, Dinzeo T, Sepede JC, Bertagnolli JF, White C. Empathy and the medical student house call: the effect of clinical settings on empathy in third year medical students [first published as "Article domain category: medical education"]. Journal of Medical Education and Curricular Development. 2023 May 15;10:23821205231175804. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec.
   
• Hafeza Shaikh, DO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Medicine
  Ahmed F, Koneru M, Garg R, Shaikh H. Imaging characteristics of tongue hematoma and pseudoaneurysm following tooth extraction requiring emergency liquid embolization. Cureus. 2023 May 30;15(5):e39731. eCollection 2023 May
   
• T. Peter Stein, PhD | Professor | Surgery
  Hamilton KL, Kuo YC, Horneffer P, Stein TP, Goldberg GS. Video didactic preparation augments problem-based learning for first year medical students. Journal of Medical Education & Curricular Development. 2023 May 29;10:23821205231177862. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec.
   
• Antonios Tsompanidis, DO | Clinical Assistant Professor (Volunteer) | Family Medicine
  Xiao D, Dalton R, Fineman A, Benz M, Tsompanidis A. The use of AngioVac in a patient with severe infective endocarditis where open heart surgery is contraindicated: a case report. Cureus. 2023 May 29;15(5):e39639. eCollection 2023 May
   
• Christian White, DO | Assistant Professor | Geriatrics & Gerontology/NJISA
  Collins PB, Dinzeo T, Sepede JC, Bertagnolli JF, White C
  Empathy and the medical student house call: the effect of clinical settings on empathy in third year medical students [first published as "Article domain category: medical education"]. Journal of Medical Education and Curricular Development. 2023 May 15;10:23821205231175804. eCollection 2023 Jan-Dec
  
  Overbeck K, Bodenheimer L, White C, Toplyn L, Chiu C. Exhuming an ultra rapid cognitive screen: a case study with The Sweet 16 [Poster C33]. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2023 Apr 4;71(S1):S194

Source: Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library – Faculty Bibliography
Publications lists curated by Lisa Price, MSLIS, at Rowan-Virtua SOM Health Sciences Library